Home » Music » Song of the Day


Espiritual by Roger Burn

From the album

Album Title: Trilogy (A Tribute To Roger Burn & Shapes)
Label: Blue Canoe Records
Released: 2019
Duration: 2:01:00


Sign in to view listen count

Fiona's Comments

A supercharged combo of expertise, joy and expectation. A rare chance to hear these high profile names play together.

About the Album

We remember the late great Roger Burn with the release of “Trilogy (A Tribute To Roger Burn & Shapes)”. Roger was a multi-talented musician; a master vibraphonist, a pianist/keyboard player, drummer, percussionist, singer, composer, arranger, meticulous music copyist, bandleader & music publisher. All of these things are on display with this contemporary jazz release - “Trilogy”. We hope to honor Roger and his beautiful music with this three-CD set featuring Roger and his band Shapes. Produced by Jimmy Haslip

Song Listing

Espiritual #1; Arequita #2; Oddly Enough #3; Cluster's Last Stand #4; What The Dickens #5; Git Along Little Doggi #6; A Good Day In A Bad Place #7; Portrait Of Jenny #8; Brazil Indiana #9; El Paso #10; Arc Of Twilight #11; Naima #12; The Big Picture #13; Gabriela #14; Eat The Heat #15; Lobster #16; Measure Once #17; Sotto Voce' #18; Softly As In A Morning Sunrise #19; Love For Sale #20; In The Outdoors #21; I Didn't Know What Time It Was #22; Automat #23; I Still Remember #24; What Now? #25; Train's A Comin #26; How His Heart Sang #27; The Last Farewell #28; Time Passing #29; Night Bloom #30; What I Leave Behind #31; Wise Guys #32; It Is, But It Isn't #33; Missing You #34; Doin' Bits #35; I Thought I Cared #36; Second Wind #37; Night Bloom #38


Roger Burn

Additional Personnel

Roger Burn: vibraphonist, piano, keys; Jimmy Haslip: bass, producer; Robben Ford: guitar; Mike Stern: guitar; Bela Fleck: electric banjo; Russ Ferrante: keys, b3, synths, strings; Flora Purim: vocals; Pauline Wilson: vocals; David Derge: drums, percussion; Roy McCurdy: drums; Arito Moreira: drums; Jimmy Branly: percussion; Scott Breadman: percussion; Walfredo Reyes, Jr: percussion; Billy Hultin: bells, wind chimes; Michael Barsimanto: drums, cymbal swells; Mike Higgins: electric guitar, acoustic guitar; Ken Lasaine: electric guitar, acoustic guitar; Matthew Von Doran: electric guitar; Rafael Moreria: acoustic guitar, vocal translation; Doug Livingston: pedal steel guitar; Edwin Livingston: bass; Larry Steen: bass; Dean Taba: bass; Dennis Hamm: keyboards; Wayne Cook: b3, sound design; Patric Caird: keyboards; Joseph Patrick Moore: consultant; Andy Suzuki: saxophones, flute, clarinets; Matt Catingub: alto saxophone; Bill Bergman: tenor saxophone; Bob Hardt: piccolo; Rick Rossi: flutes; Les Lovitt: trumpets; Mike Fahn: valve trombone; Mick Lane: tenor and bass trombone; Steve Baxter: tenor trombone; Tollak Ollestad: harmonica; Joe Turano: accordion; George McMullen: didgeridoo, tenor trombone; Wally Wino: vocals; Mark Campbell: vocals; Deborah Parson: vocals; Carol Eckstein: vocals; Rachel Jiyoung Yoon: orchestration, tech, advice; Brian Bogle: sound design; Eddie King: recording, mixing engineer; Derek Jones: recording, mixing engineer; Rich Breen: mixing, mastering engineer; Wayne Cook: recording engineer; Tally Sherwood: recording engineer; Water Usmi: production assistant; Ana Rut Are: album cover shapes; Thomas Heflin: graphic design

Date featured

January 4, 2020

This song appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.


Song of the Day


Big Daddy
Randolph Noel
Blues For Tony
Allan Holdsworth & Alan Pasqua
Winnipeg Jazz Orchestra
Where is Walter
Christoph Irniger
Tobin Mueller
Laurent Medelgi
Yo Hombre del Mundo
Antonio Flinta
Mood Variations
Roc Flowers

Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and includes upcoming jazz events near you.