Home » Music » Song of the Day


Back Track by Ally Fiola

From the album

Album Title: Interblaze
Arts Nova Scotia
Released: 2023


Sign in to view listen count

About the Album

Interblaze is the exciting new full-length album from Nova Scotian saxophonist and composer Ally Fiola. It considers themes of grief, wonder, fear, and passion through the exploration of one’s inner fire. The album includes seven of Fiola’s original compositions, and concludes with a tribute to her late grandfather. Also featured on this record are Grammy nominated saxophonist Jeff Coffin (Dave Matthews Band, Bela Fleck and the Flecktones), keyboardist Glenn Patscha (Bonnie Raitt), Kurdish rock guitarist Shvan Kaban, and a number of top-tier Nova Scotian musicians including co-producer and saxophonist, Chris Mitchell.   Fiola’s music, with its quirky melodies, joyous grooves and unexpected twists and turns, is influenced by the music of Maceo Parker, Duke Ellington, Charles Mingus, and the New Orleans brass band tradition. An experienced film composer, Fiola’s music is emotionally charged, infused with personality, and is widely accessible.  From the album’s title track, to Circular Beginnings, to Intuition, Fiola fuses a familiar funk style with a distinctive melodic sensibility and interwoven counterpoint. The New Orleans influence is evident on pieces like Back Track, and with her second line treatment of Amazing Grace. She demonstrates an ability to connect with a wide range of listeners with bittersweet compositions like the stripped down Rocket Sunrise and Thoughts of Home, which is defined by its compelling rock touch. Fiola strategically arranges the compositions on Interblaze to highlight the talents of the artists she has assembled for this project. Interblaze was released worldwide on Friday, March 10th, 2023.

Song Listing

Interblaze; Back Track; Circular Beginnings; Intuition; Rocket Sunrise; Thoughts Of Home; Underground; Amazing Grace.


Ally Fiola
Jeff Coffin
Simon Oakly

Additional Personnel

Glen Patscha: organ, piano, accordion; Chris Mitchell: baritone saxophone; Addison Sowery- Quinn: sousaphone; Shvan Kaban: guitar; Andrew Miller: drums.


Date featured

March 27, 2023

This song appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.


Song of the Day

Toy Trumpet
Jeremy Cohen
Without a Song
Stephen Jones
Titan vs. Sphinx
Charlie Apicella


Brad Goode
God Bless the Child
Tobin Mueller
Paws Up
Oleksandr Kolosii
Cinco 4
Pedro Henry
Meridian 63
Felipe Salles
Love Lost on a Bar Napkin
Wide-Eyed Lounge Cats
Her Triumph
Xose Miguelez

Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.