Home » Jazz Articles » Album Review » Satoko Fujii / Ramon Lopez / Natsuki Tamura: Mantle


Satoko Fujii / Ramon Lopez / Natsuki Tamura: Mantle


Sign in to view read count
Satoko Fujii / Ramon Lopez / Natsuki Tamura: Mantle
Japanese pianist Satoko Fujii rarely stands still. When she and Spanish drummer Ramon Lopez toured Japan in 2019 on the back of their duo album Confluence (Libra, 2019), they took the opportunity to add Fujii's partner trumpeter Natsuki Tamura to the line up. To make things fresher still, they set themselves a challenge: to each write a new piece for the trio every day. Mantle, recorded in the studio the day after the tour concluded, collects their favorite numbers, three from each principal.

Consequently, while the program has been road-tested to a degree, it retains an appealing rawness, shunning tight arrangements or complex lines. And as a result, while the outcome is similarly enthralling, it is very different to other entries in Fujii's discography made with the same instrumentation, such as the superb 1538 (Libra, 2018).

As each selection is purpose-built for the threesome, it is no surprise that they make ingenious use of the resources to hand, encompassing solo, duo and trio formations within an ensemble conception. Some are quite dark, tinged with melancholy such as "Your Shadow," others are more playful, taking an irreverent approach to the written material, with the kernels of tunes treated very freely. Like all the best stories, it is never possible to second guess where the twists and turns within each cut will lead.

Many of the themes come hidden within group interplay, cloaked by discursive asides and suspenseful pauses. As such, any authorial differences are masked. Whether on the percussive "From Spring To Summer," the conversational "Straw Coat," or "Came, Left," with its allusions to drum and bugle corps, the three master improvisers hint at rhythm and melody while revelling in dynamic switchbacks and expressive textures.

And those textures go beyond the now expected delights of the weird and wonderful sounds Tamura extracts from his trumpet or Fujii's edgy excursions under the bonnet of her instrument. Lopez' study of tablas manifests in certain patterns and tempered sonorities that he draws from his drum heads, notably in his unaccompanied introduction to "Encounter."

The final "The Temple Bell" toggles between adventurous piano and trumpet exchanges, and drum interludes which touch on moods from martial to bombastic, eventually ramping up to an intense climax and an ultimately enigmatic and unresolved finish. It is an ending which sums up the entire date: loosely handled scripts, embellished by breathtaking improvisation, which still leave plenty for the imagination to ponder.

Track Listing

Nine Steps to the Ground; Metaphors; From Spring to Summer; Your Shadow; Encounter; Straw Coat; Came, Left; Autumn Sky; The Temple Bell.


Album information

Title: Mantle | Year Released: 2020 | Record Label: Not Two Records


For the Love of Jazz
Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

You Can Help
To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.




Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.