Deus ex Machina: Imparis

John Kelman By

Sign in to view read count
Despite being around for over 20 years with an underground fan base in the progressive rock world, it's only been since Cinque (2002), released by the intrepid Cuneiform Records, that Deus ex Machina has begun to garner broader attention. Cinque set the standard for an Italian group that combines the best of Gentle Giant's contrapuntal idiosyncrasies with a distinctive fusion jazz bent, an unmistakably Mediterranean sound and a vocal concept that may take some getting used to, but is equally definitive. Imparis, recorded over two days in 2006, is a generous double-disc set that combines a CD of largely new material with a live DVD from Paris' Le Triton club, also including 70 minutes of bonus material that traces DeM back to 1993 and its second, self-titled album.

Pared down from Cinque's nonet, it's a leaner six-piece featuring bell canto singer Alperto Piras delivering lyrics in Latin or Italian. An operatic voice in a progressive rock context may be an acquired taste, but on Imparis Piras' occasional over-the-top tendencies are tempered, making it a better entry point for the uninitiated. Hearing Piras bending notes in powerful, bluesy fashion on "Cosmopolitismo Centimetropolitano," first heard on Equilibrismo da Insofferenza (Kaliphonia, 1998) and the only track to appear on both the CD and DVD, is a strangely compelling experience.

DeM's references are so varied that it's sometimes difficult to know exactly what it wants to be, yet that very eclecticism gives Imparis its weight. Episodic writing makes it possible to combine knotty, riff-based passages, near-funk and open-ended improvisation within the confines of a single tune, with "La Diversita di Avere un'Anima" moving seamlessly through numerous landscapes while providing ample opportunity for violinist Buonez Bonetti's vibrant solo—a unique blend of Jerry Goodman's visceral energy and Jean-Luc Ponty's sophisticated melodicism. Guitarist Maurino Collina takes a brutal, metallic solo that leads into a brief feature for keyboardist Fabrizio Puglisi, where his predilection for analog synth textures is clear; equally so during his fiery trade-off with Collina on the dramatic "Il Testamento dell'Uomo Saggio."

Bassist Porre Porreca and drummer Claudio Trotta rarely get solo space—though Trotta gets an extended workout on his five-minute intro to "Cosmopolitismo Centimetropolitano" on the DVD—but they're fundamental to DeM's forceful and often knotty rhythms. Whether it's the gradually building dynamic of "Giallo Oro" or the fiery, fusion-centric "Il Testamento dell'Uomo Saggio," they stoke DeM's engine with the ideal confluence of groove and complexity.

Everyone in DeM is a virtuoso, yet they curiously manage to avoid bombast, despite there being no shortage of high velocity playing throughout. Traces of King Crimson, Giant, PFM and other '70s prog demi-gods come together in DeM, and what's perhaps best about the DVD is the opportunity to follow Deus ex Machina's from its more prog-metal beginnings to the more sophisticated group it is today. The buzz has been out about Imparis for a couple of years, and the mix of strong new material and energetic performances—live and in the studio—makes it well worth the wait.

Track Listing: CD: La Diversita di Avere un'Anima; Giallo Oro; Il Testamento dell'Uomo Saggio; Cor Mio; La Fine del Mondo; Cosmopolitismo Centimetropolitano. DVD: Rhinoceros; La Diversita di Avere un'Anima; Giallo Oro; Dove Non Puo Errserci Contraddizione; Il Pensiero Che Porta Alle Cose Importanti; Cosmopolitismo Centimetropolitano (drum solo); Cosmopolitismo Centimetropolitano; Interviews: DeM speak, Fabrizio plays (Giallo Oro); Paris Backstage; Excerpts from Manresa, Spain, 2002: Il Pensiero Che Porta Alle Cose Importanti, Cosmopolitismo Centimetropolitano; Excerpts from Chapel Hill, USA, 1996: Ad Montem, Hostis; Excerpt from Italian TV, 1996: Res Publica II; Ad Montem 1993 video clip.

Personnel: Buonez Bonetti: violins; Maurino Collina: guitars; Alberto Piras: vocals; Porre Porreca: bass; Fabrizio Puglisi: keyboards; Claudio Trotta: drums.

Title: Imparis | Year Released: 2008 | Record Label: Cuneiform Records


comments powered by Disqus

More Articles

Read The Study of Touch CD/LP/Track Review The Study of Touch
by Karl Ackermann
Published: October 20, 2017
Read Another North CD/LP/Track Review Another North
by Roger Farbey
Published: October 19, 2017
Read Gledalec CD/LP/Track Review Gledalec
by John Sharpe
Published: October 19, 2017
Read Flux Reflux CD/LP/Track Review Flux Reflux
by Glenn Astarita
Published: October 19, 2017
Read Christmas With Champian CD/LP/Track Review Christmas With Champian
by Dan McClenaghan
Published: October 19, 2017
Read Harmony of Difference CD/LP/Track Review Harmony of Difference
by Phil Barnes
Published: October 18, 2017
Read "You Already Know" CD/LP/Track Review You Already Know
by Dan Bilawsky
Published: September 7, 2017
Read "Hot Coffey in the D – Burnin' at Morey Baker’s Showplace Lounge" CD/LP/Track Review Hot Coffey in the D – Burnin' at Morey...
by Doug Collette
Published: January 15, 2017
Read "No Filter" CD/LP/Track Review No Filter
by Mark F. Turner
Published: January 11, 2017
Read "The Wild" CD/LP/Track Review The Wild
by Jerome Wilson
Published: March 15, 2017
Read "A Sleepin' Bee" CD/LP/Track Review A Sleepin' Bee
by Dan Bilawsky
Published: October 3, 2017
Read "Just Get In" CD/LP/Track Review Just Get In
by Glenn Astarita
Published: October 22, 2016

Join the staff. Writers Wanted!

Develop a column, write album reviews, cover live shows, or conduct interviews.