Jason "Spicy G" Goldman: Hypnotized

Edward Blanco BY

Sign in to view read count
Jason "Spicy G" Goldman: Hypnotized
An award-winning producer, songwriter, composer, arranger, educator and multi-instrumentalist, Jason Goldman (aka "Spicy G") presents the EP Hypnotized, delivering another enchanting masterpiece production of music from The Great American Songbook. Best known for his collaboration with Michael Buble, Goldman's credits extend to writing and arranging for the likes of David Foster, Herbie Hancock and Meghan Trainor as well as performing with Terence Blanchard, Michael Feinstein and jazz giant Wayne Shorter.

On this project, Goldman takes a new look at a handful of time-honored songs such as "Pennies from Heaven," "Witchcraft," and "I'm Gonna Sit Right Down and Write Myself A Letter," offering new and vibrant arrangements featuring the vocal talents of three young songbirds poised for future stardom. These ladies belt out the lyrics and energize the melodies with their lush vocals providing a fresh appeal to familiar songs.

On "Pennies from Heaven," LA-based singer and producer Olivia Morreale voices a beautiful, warm rendition of the classic on a soft and gentle ballad, then shifts her style on the up-tempo big band-sounding powerful "Witchcraft," where "Princess Liv," as she is also known, brings the house down on the album's final track.

Singer, writer and musician Erin Bentiage makes her only appearance with a stylish performance on the 1950 composition from Milton DeLugg "Orange Colored Sky," while nineteen-year-old Emmy-nominated songwriter Addie Hamilton adds her hush-toned voice on the title track and the 1935 song, first popularized by Fats Waller, none other than "I'm Gonna Sit Right Down and Write Myself a letter."

In producing this album Goldman stated, "It was important to choose vocalists that could sing this music like nobody else," and in sampling this EP, one can certainly conclude that he did just that. Singers Bentlage, Hamilton and Morreale cast their hypnotic spell on the music, making Hypnotized a magical musical experience one can enjoy often.

Track Listing

Hypnotized, Orange Colored Sky, Pennies from Heaven, I'm Gonna Sit Right Down and Write Myself a Letter, Witchcraft.


Jason Goldman: saxophone; Erin Bentlage: voice / vocals; Addie Hamilton: voice / vocals; Olivia Morreale: voice / vocals; Matt Richards: guitar; Ryan DeWeese: trumpet; Jon Hatamiya: trombone; Bryan Stewart: guitar.

Additional Instrumentation

Jason "Spicy G" Goldman

Album information

Title: Hypnotized | Year Released: 2020 | Record Label: Self Produced

Post a comment about this album


Shop Amazon


Human Rites Trio
Jason Kao Hwang
Matthew Shipp / William Parker
A New Dawn
Marius Neset
Il Sogno
Chick Corea Akoustic Band with John Patitucci &...
Detail - 90
Frode Gjerstad / Kent Carter / John Stevens


Terence Blanchard featuring The E-Collective
The Garden
Rachel Eckroth
Uma Elmo
Jakob Bro
Time Frames
Michael Waldrop

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.