Paul Taylor: Hypnotic


Sign in to view read count
Paul Taylor: Hypnotic
Smoooooth soprano saxophonist Paul Taylor's fourth CD, Hypnotic (his first on Russ Freeman's Peak label), pretty much nails the smooth jazz genre smack-dab in the center. His pleasing soprano, often overdubbed with harmonies, weaves sensual, pleasant melodies and lyrical solos on top of layers of programmed keyboard and drum soundscapes. He works with several different producer/programmer/all other instruments collaborators: former employer Jeff Lorber (five tunes), and Dino Esposito, Kurt Jackson, and Oji Pierce (two tunes apiece). Despite the different producers, the sound and the mood never vary much from the smooth formula. The album's title is apt; this program could easily lull the listener into a smooth, mellow trance.

Track Listing

Hypnotic; Flight 808; PT Cruiser; Tuesday Afternoon; Dream State; Sunshine; Pendulum; Come Over; Summer Park; Free Fall; Palisades.


Paul Taylor: soprano and alto sax; Brian Monroney: guitar; Kurt Jackson: guitar; Tony Maiden: guitar; Paul Pesco: guitar; Alex Al: bass; Lenny Castro: percussion; Kurt Jackson: vocals (6); Dino Esposito: keyboards, drum programming, all other instruments; Kurt Jackson: keyboards, drum programming, all other instruments; Mathew Edralin: keyboards, drum programming, all other instruments; Jeff Lorber: keyboards, drum programming, all other instruments; Oji Pierce: keyboards, drum programming, all other instruments.

Album information

Title: Hypnotic | Year Released: 2001 | Record Label: Concord Music Group

Post a comment about this album


Shop Amazon


Plan B
The Kevin Brady Electric Quartet
Josh Sinton
Edizione Speciale
Enrico Rava
Fredrik Rasten
Shadow Plays
Craig Taborn
Room 118
OSU Jazz Orchestra
Live at the Village Vanguard
Christian McBride & Inside Straight


Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.