Dear All About Jazz Readers,

If you're familiar with All About Jazz, you know that we've dedicated over two decades to supporting jazz as an art form, and more importantly, the creative musicians who make it. Our enduring commitment has made All About Jazz one of the most culturally important websites of its kind in the world reaching hundreds of thousands of readers every month. However, to expand our offerings and develop new means to foster jazz discovery we need your help.

You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky Google ads PLUS deliver exclusive content and provide access to future articles for a full year! This combination will not only improve your AAJ experience, it will allow us to continue to rigorously build on the great work we first started in 1995. Read on to view our project ideas...


Mark de Clive-Lowe: Heritage

Tyran Grillo By

Sign in to view read count
On Heritage, pianist/composer/producer Mark de Clive-Lowe sows two rhythmic seeds for every melodic plant reaped from an autobiographical crop. The half-Japanese, half-New Zealander's spiritual kinship with Japan runs deep. His blending of electronics and sampling elicits a precision that only enhances the freer passages, and provides a fitting platform for his copilots Josh Johnson (alto sax and flute), Teodross Avery (tenor sax), Brandon Eugene Owens (bass), Carlos Niño (percussion) and Brandon Combs (drums).

At home in jazz and hip-hop, de Clive-Lowe takes his art wherever it must go, transcending genre boundaries. This is clearest in the album's third track, "Memories of Nanzenji." One can almost feel every leaf swaying above the rock garden. Before that he opens with "The Offering." Like a stick of burning incense, it gives up a steady spirit from a crumbling body before cohering into a low groove. This is followed by "Bushidō 1," in which Johnson soars above rivers connecting one abandoned home to another. On the other side of this ancient coin is "Mizugaki," an improvisation-heavy tune that evokes the massive boulders for which the region sharing its name is known. Here the mood goes from lunar to solar and back again, smoothing some unbridled action from both reedmen into an R&B groove.

After a lovingly arranged solo piano version of "Akatombo," one of Japan's most well-known folksongs, "Niten-Ichi" evokes the classical Japanese sword technique of the same name, moving from internalized to externalized gestures in one flowing transition. This leaves only "Asa no Yume" (Morning Dream) to rest upon the mind in all its Rhodes-infused beauty. A technological sigh of release, it gives hope to restless sleepers.

While such a project could easily fall into a trap of cultural appropriation, in the hands of such capable souls it feels as genuine as breathing. The album is suffused with a rich, warm sound that embraces us from the first note to the last, and focuses on the path more than the destination.

Track Listing: The Offering; Bushidō 1; Memories of Nanzenji; Mizugaki; Akatombo; Niten-Ichi; Asa no Yume.

Personnel: Mark de Clive-Lowe: piano, Rhodes, synths, live electronics, programming; Josh Johnson: alto sax, flute; Teodross Avery: tenor sax; Brandon Eugene Owens: bass; Carlos Niño: additional percussion; Brandon Combs: drums.

Title: Heritage | Year Released: 2019 | Record Label: Ropeadope


comments powered by Disqus


Start your shopping here and you'll support All About Jazz in the process. Learn how.

Related Articles

Read Friendly Signs Album Reviews
Friendly Signs
By Don Phipps
February 22, 2019
Read The Adventures of Mr Pottercakes Album Reviews
The Adventures of Mr Pottercakes
By Roger Farbey
February 22, 2019
Read Free Fall Album Reviews
Free Fall
By Glenn Astarita
February 22, 2019
Read The Largo And The Lame Album Reviews
The Largo And The Lame
By Mark Corroto
February 22, 2019
Read Sun Of Goldfinger Album Reviews
Sun Of Goldfinger
By Dan McClenaghan
February 22, 2019
Read Paint The Sky Album Reviews
Paint The Sky
By Andrew J. Sammut
February 21, 2019
Read God Is More Than Love Can Ever Be Album Reviews
God Is More Than Love Can Ever Be
By Karl Ackermann
February 21, 2019