Dear All About Jazz Readers,

If you're familiar with All About Jazz, you know that we've dedicated over two decades to supporting jazz as an art form, and more importantly, the creative musicians who make it. Our enduring commitment has made All About Jazz one of the most culturally important websites of its kind in the world reaching hundreds of thousands of readers every month. However, to expand our offerings and develop new means to foster jazz discovery we need your help.

You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky Google ads PLUS deliver exclusive content and provide access to future articles for a full year! This combination will not only improve your AAJ experience, it will allow us to continue to rigorously build on the great work we first started in 1995. Read on to view our project ideas...


E_L_B (Peter Erskine_Nguyen Le_Michel Benita): Dream Flight

John Kelman By

Sign in to view read count
Active leaders all—and busy sidemen as well—drummer Peter Erskine, guitarist Nguyên Lê and bassist Michel Benita worked together in other contexts, prior to forming the collective trio E_L_B and releasing their self-titled 2000 ACT debut. Busy schedules prevented a follow-up for seven years; but following a successful tour where the trio became a quartet with the addition of impressive up-and-coming saxophonist Stéphane Guillaume, Dream Flight retains all that made E_L_B such a compelling listen, while demonstrating the growth one would hope to hear in the intervening years.

Despite the demonstrable talent of his early years, Erskine experienced a watershed mark in the early 1990s, when his earlier, chops-laden work morphed into an approach more attuned to the essence of the material. His own projects have simplified to the point of diametric opposition to much of his early work. Here, he strikes a more equitable balance, kicking seriously funky butt on Lê's "Jive Five," which briefly quotes the late bassist Jaco Pastorius' "Teen Town." Still, Erskine's attention to the needs of the song remains, transcending superfluous excess and integrating more seamlessly with his band mates.

Pastorius gets another nod on Erskine's "Song for Jaco," where Benita takes the lead—though, on acoustic bass, it's a much different complexion. Still, this tender ballad not only references the late bassist's melodic elegance, but Erskine's ability to compose profoundly beautiful music. Guillaume's tenor solo is poignantly spare, while Lê combines touching lyricism, distinctive technique and an unerring ability to choose the right tonality for every occasion.

It remains an oddity that Lê is considered by most to be a fusion guitarist (not that there's anything wrong with that), when he's proved himself capable of far more. Erskine's "Twelve," done in a "time no changes" style and revived from Juni (1999)—his final ECM trio disc with pianist John Taylor and bassist Palle Danielsson—provides a far freer context for Lê to bend the rules, with a brief but gently swinging solo combining occidental harmony and oriental microtonality.

Still, despite some of Dream Flight's subtler nuances, there's no shortage of energy and just plain kicking it. Lê's irregularly metered "Kokopanitsa" is quirky piece of funk with a set of staggering changes surpassed only by Lê's knotty, high-velocity theme, and a solo that combines in-your-face virtuosity with visceral bends and a distinctive use of the whammy bar. Benita's title track is more ethereal, a feature for Lê's expansive textural playing, with a greasy groove and singable melody that set the stage for an early highlight: Lê's electrifying and gradually intensifying solo—supported, pushed and prodded by Erskine and Benita.

The addition of Guillaume gives Dream Flight greater breadth, but it's the chemistry shared by Erksine, Lê and Benita that drives the disc. Sometimes it's not necessary to play together on a regular basis. Sometimes, lessons learned in other situations—and brought to occasional reunions—make a collective of already proven potential all the stronger still.

VIsit Peter Erskine, Nguyên Lê and Michel Benita on the web.

Track Listing: Dream Flight; Rotha & Priska; Jive Five; Song for Jaco; Twelve; Plan 9; Kokopanitsa; Romanichel; Montreal; Hanging Out on the Roofs; A Demain.

Personnel: Peter Erskine: drums, timpani, percussion; Nguyên Lê: electric guitar; Michel Benita: bass; Stéphane Guillaume: tenor and soprano saxophones.

Title: Dream Flight | Year Released: 2008 | Record Label: ACT Music


comments powered by Disqus

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Live Reviews
Album Reviews
Extended Analysis
Live Reviews
Album Reviews
Extended Analysis
Album Reviews
Multiple Reviews
Album Reviews
Read more articles
Ha Noi Duo

Ha Noi Duo

ACT Music



Unknown label


Upcoming Shows

Date Detail Price
Marciac, France

Related Articles

Read LE10 18-05 Album Reviews
LE10 18-05
By Karl Ackermann
May 20, 2019
Read Remembering Miles Album Reviews
Remembering Miles
By Dan McClenaghan
May 20, 2019
Read Merry Peers Album Reviews
Merry Peers
By Bruce Lindsay
May 20, 2019
Read Music! Music! Music! Album Reviews
Music! Music! Music!
By Doug Collette
May 20, 2019
Read Sheer Reckless Abandon Album Reviews
Sheer Reckless Abandon
By John Kelman
May 19, 2019
Read Gratitude: Stage Door Live @ the Z Album Reviews
Gratitude: Stage Door Live @ the Z
By Jack Bowers
May 19, 2019
Read To My Brothers Album Reviews
To My Brothers
By Victor L. Schermer
May 19, 2019