Samo Salamon: Almost Alone Vol 1

Hrayr Attarian By

Sign in to view read count
Samo Salamon: Almost Alone Vol 1
Slovenian guitarist Samo Salamon is as prolific as he is innovative. His restless explorations have resulted in a large, versatile discography that ranges from the orchestral to the free flowing with a variety of ensembles. His 2020 release Almost Alone Vol. 1 is a set of eleven duets each with a different international guitarist. It is the first in a planned three-record series.

Every track features a different set of motifs yet the eloquent lyricism of the dialogues gives the album a thematic unity. For instance, the "Coalition of Mistaken" with the Finnish guitarist Kalle Kalima is expansive and atmospheric. The contrast between acoustic and electric strings creates a captivating soundscape. Darker hues penetrate the shimmering tune as Kalima and Salamon push the boundaries of improvisation to a delightfully dissonant realm.

On "Seven Cats," on the other hand, Salamon and Serbian guitarist Dusan Jevtovic pepper the Slavic melody with muscular and acerbic chords. Drawing inspiration both from their shared heritage as well as the visceral world of hard rock the two artists craft a musical fairy tale that is mordant and filled with moments of virtuosity.

In contrast on "Crooswijk" Turkish guitarist Cenk Erdogan's fretless instrument and Salamon's percussive lines build a song filled with Levantine mysticism. One of the most intimate pieces on the album it allows Erdogan to stretch out with kaleidoscopic phrases and poetic sense as Salamon creates a wistful ambience around the solo.

Similarly melancholic is "Northern Wind." Here, Greek guitarist Spiros Exaras and Salamon exchange haunting and hypnotic refrains that have hints of the blues as well as a Zen-like solemnity.

As expected from Salamon Almost Alone Volume 1 is a superb and thrilling work. His synergy with so many charismatic musicians as well as each one's singular brilliance is what makes this release stimulating and emotive. It certainly whets the appetite for the subsequent installments in this ingenious project.

Track Listing

Miss Sarcasm; Nightmare; Crooswijk; Awkwardly Placed; Coalition of the Mistaken; Looking Back; Seagulls in Maine; Seven Cats; Not Too Late, Not Too Soon; Monked; Northern Wind.


Samo Salamon: guitar, electric; Alex Machacek: guitar, electric; Rafal Sarnecki: guitar; Cenk Erdogan: guitar; André Fernandes: guitar; Kalle Kalima: guitar; Jacob Young: guitar; Albert Vila: guitar; Dusan Jevtovic: guitar; Lorenzo Di Maio: guitar; Phillip Schaufelberg: guitar; Spiros Exaras: guitar.

Additional Instrumentation

Samo Salamon: moog; mandolin.

Album information

Title: Almost Alone Vol 1 | Year Released: 2020 | Record Label: Samo Records

Post a comment about this album


Shop Amazon


Zero Grasses: Ritual for The Losses
Jen Shyu and Jade Tongue
J. Peter Schwalm & Markus Reuter
Liudas Mockūnas / Arvydas Kazlauskas
Chapter One
Marieke Koopman


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.