Oddarrang: Agartha


Sign in to view read count
Oddarrang: Agartha
Agartha is the fourth studio album by Finnish quintet Oddarrang and their second for the UK label Edition Records. The band is led by eclectic musician and drummer, Olavi Louhivuori.

The album's title takes its name from the legendary world that is said to reside in the Earth's core, and Miles Davis's similarly named album Agharta also derives from this mythological entity.

"Altheia" starts with spacey low droning synthesizers, evoking shades of early-ish Pink Floyd but the mood is suddenly lightened by fast flowing streams of higher register keyboard notes and a dramatic backdrop of choir-like harmonies evolving into a cacophonic melee of sound.

Slow to take off, but when it does the anthemic "Central Sun" verges on, if not exactly heavy rock, then certainly heavy prog, and is enhanced by wordless voices and gutsy trombone and a central labrynthine theme. Louhivuori's metally-edged drums here become the focal point of the piece.

By sharp contrast to the preceding track, the lugubrious first part of "Mass I-II" is dominated by doleful cello. The second part sees guitars and cello interplay with synthesizers, building-up to the final section with flailing drums and resonant bass leading to a climactic crescendo.

After a taciturn beginning, "Admiral Byrd's Flight," transmutes into a showpiece benefitting from a dramatic and memorable riff augmented by haunting vocals, and all ultimately overtaken by synthesizer effects.

The tranquil "Telos" is swathed in rich trombone and cello, an unusual but enlightened instrumental combination. A short bridge of synthesizers leads into the rock-infused title track, dominated by an ostinato bass riff, overlaid guitars, swirling synths, cello, trombone and voices, culminating in an almost liturgical-sounding ending. Oddarrang doesn't sound like any other band nor does it fit into any particular musical bag, but the music produced is extraordinary. No dragged-out ego-drenched solos here, just a band playing as one complete and harmonious unit.

Track Listing

Aletheia; Central Sun; Mass I-III; Admiral Byrd’s Flight; Telos/Agartha.


Ilmari Pohjola: trombone, synthesizer, voice; Lasse Sakara: guitars, voice; Osmo Ikonen: cello, synthesizer, erhu, voice; Lasse Lindgren: bass, synthesizers, voice; Olavi Louhivuori: drums, synthesizer, voice.

Album information

Title: Agartha | Year Released: 2016 | Record Label: Edition Records

Post a comment about this album


Shop Amazon


Michael Bisio
The 7th Hand
Immanuel Wilkins
Break A Vase
Alexander Hawkins / Mirror Canon
Ilaria Capalbo
12 Stars
Melissa Aldana
Mark Lockheart


Plays New Zealand
The Rodger Fox Big Band
As We Are
Dave Stryker
The Pugilist
The BBB Featuring Bernie Dresel
Malcolm Jiyane Tree-O
Skúli Sverrisson With Bill Frisell

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.