Samo Salamon Sextet: The Colours Suite

Mark Sullivan By

Sign in to view read count
Slovenian guitarist/composer Samo Salamon has built a diverse discography, with a wide range of instrumentation. He had always wanted to do a project with two drummers, and a 2016 show at the Jazz Festival Ljubljana finally presented the opportunity—this album documents that performance. Recruiting a sextet made up of a mix of longtime associates and players new to his music, he wrote new music specifically for the group—a departure from most of his previous recordings, which typically have a combination of new compositions and new arrangements of older repertoire.

The call-and response rhythmic riffs of "Yellow" get the suite off to an energetic start, ending with a duet for tenor saxophone and bass clarinet. This approach is typical of the entire composition. It's very much a group sound, but with space for individual instruments to shine. Stylistically it tends towards the free end of Salomon's music. In that context it is notable that while there are no drum solos (resisting the urge to go all Allman Brothers, especially in a live performance), the last piece ("Grey") is a group improvisation. "Black" has a lot of activity in its relatively short span: after a long-line theme over a bass ostinato, the rhythm section goes into double-time for a group conversation. "Green" features a skittering unaccompanied bass solo, while "Red" has an almost unaccompanied guitar spot, busy and chromatic, with a saxophone solo at the end that leads right into "White."

The closing improvisation begins with a pointillistic group dialog—not unlike the sound on some of the earlier tracks. But the abstraction resolves into a neat little collapsing riff at the end. It's the sound of a first-time band that is finely attuned to each other. Several of the players do have a long association with Salamon: drummer Roberto Dani and bass clarinetist Achille Succi (both since 2003), and saxophonist Julian Arguelles (since 2007). Still an impressive performance—a fresh grouping playing complex new music with verve.

Track Listing: Yellow; Black; Green; Red; White; Brown; Blue; Grey.

Personnel: Achille Succi: bass clarinet; Julian Arguelles: tenor and soprano saxophone; Samo Salamon: guitar, production; Pascal Niggenkemper: bass; Roberto Dani: drums; Christian Lillinger: drums.

Title: The Colours Suite | Year Released: 2017 | Record Label: Clean Feed Records


Related Video

comments powered by Disqus

More Articles

Read For the Love of You CD/LP/Track Review For the Love of You
by Jack Bowers
Published: October 21, 2017
Read Recent Developments CD/LP/Track Review Recent Developments
by John Sharpe
Published: October 21, 2017
Read Triple Double CD/LP/Track Review Triple Double
by Glenn Astarita
Published: October 21, 2017
Read Agrima CD/LP/Track Review Agrima
by Jerome Wilson
Published: October 21, 2017
Read The Study of Touch CD/LP/Track Review The Study of Touch
by Karl Ackermann
Published: October 20, 2017
Read Another North CD/LP/Track Review Another North
by Roger Farbey
Published: October 19, 2017
Read "Live at the High Noon" CD/LP/Track Review Live at the High Noon
by Doug Collette
Published: June 22, 2017
Read "Backlog" CD/LP/Track Review Backlog
by James Nadal
Published: February 27, 2017
Read "The Bug" CD/LP/Track Review The Bug
by Jack Bowers
Published: August 20, 2017
Read "Alchemist" CD/LP/Track Review Alchemist
by Roger Farbey
Published: February 1, 2017
Read "Welcome to Swingsville!" CD/LP/Track Review Welcome to Swingsville!
by Jack Bowers
Published: March 26, 2017
Read "Aerial" CD/LP/Track Review Aerial
by Pascal-Denis Lussier
Published: May 3, 2017

Join the staff. Writers Wanted!

Develop a column, write album reviews, cover live shows, or conduct interviews.