All About Jazz

Home » Search Center » Results: Collin Sherman

Results for "Collin Sherman"

Advanced search options


Collin Sherman


Collin was born in 1979 in Lexington, Kentucky. Growing up in Louisville, he began playing saxophone in 4th grade at age 9. He attended Oberlin College (in Oberlin, Ohio) and Tulane Law School (in New Orleans, Louisiana). Collin moved to New York City in 2004, and played with a traditional jazz group on and off while practicing law. He began releasing his own recording in 2012. His early recording were in the ambient electronic vein, partly because the project was entirely self- produced and Collin did not have access to standard recording equipment. As he grew more comfortable recording and producing on his own, he gradually began incorporating his wind instruments (alto and soprano saxophone, Bb soprano and bass clarinet) into his recordings


Arc of a Slow Decline

Label: Extol Recordings
Released: 2020
Track listing: Prey Upon the Flock; And Publius Recoils; Sycophant Parade; Compulsory Service; Night Port; Federal Occupation; Space Between Carriers; Transit Paths; Fury Spring; Calculus of Utility; Caesium Sculptures; Sequestration Blues; Polar Ticks.


Article: Album Review

Collin Sherman: Arc of a Slow Decline

Read "Arc of a Slow Decline" reviewed by Dan McClenaghan

Music is typically a collaborative affair. A given number of players comes together and each takes a part in the shaping of a particular sound. Teamwork is the word. But sometimes a musician just has to go it alone and--in this technological age that allows such things--the recording then collaging and layering of sounds creates an ...


Liberties and Delights

Label: Extol Recordings
Released: 2019
Track listing: Knowledge Base for Sievehead; Crux No. 1; Breezy (bonus track); Outfatuation; Sunken Blue; Crux No. 2


Violence of Faction

Label: Extol Recordings
Released: 2018
Track listing: Last Train to Consonance; Go-Fast Boat to Mars; Eating Beasties; Statement of Interest; Friction on the Strip; Stucco


Fungible Deities

Label: Extol Recordings
Released: 2018
Track listing: Fungible Deities; Intuition Lies; Pensive/Turmoil/Resolve; Now Juxtapose Decency; Unwillingly Defined by the Era; Greasy Knob; A Light in Heathens' Corner; Fray and Mend


Biologic Obligations

Label: self-released
Released: 2017
Track listing: Drunken Clydesdale Derby; Float and Sting; Terms of Art; Errant Compound; Solipsism; Instance of Coincidence; Grievous Organ; Blood Garland; Old Haunt


Contest Giveaways
Enter our latest contest giveaway sponsored by Mosaic Records
Publisher's Desk
Double the Fun! Jazz & Wine Return to All About Jazz
Read on.

All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.