Learn How

We need your help in 2018

Support All About Jazz All About Jazz is looking for readers to help fund our 2018 projects that directly support jazz. You can make this happen by purchasing ad space or by making a donation to our fund drive. In addition to completing every project (listed here), we'll also hide all Google ads and present exclusive content for a full year!


University of Toronto Jazz Orchestra: Sweet Ruby Suite

Jack Bowers By

Sign in to view read count
"The Music of Kenny Wheeler Featuring Norma Winstone and Dave Liebman" is the subtext of this new (March 2016) recording by the first-rate University of Toronto Jazz Orchestra, more than half of which is devoted to Wheeler's picturesque "Sweet Ruby Suite," whose genesis and rationale aren't made clear, as there are no liner notes.

Be that as it may, the suite itself is elegant and engaging, and having celebrated artists such as Winstone and Liebman on board to help chaperon the enterprise certainly doesn't hurt the cause. Winstone sings briefly and uses vocalese elsewhere, while Liebman's persuasive soprano saxophone brightens the landscape alongside ardent solos by trumpeter Brad Eaton, bassist Victor Vrankulj, tenor Patrick Smith, pianist Josh Smiley and guitarist Christopher Platt.

Rounding out the colorful session are Wheeler's "W.W.," "Canter No. 1" (arranged by Terry Promane) and "Winter Sweet." Smith, Eaton (flugelhorn), Liebman, Smiley and drummer Andrew Miller are the soloists on "W.W." (whose cryptic name could denote Wheeler / Winstone), Liebman, flugel Marie Goudy and alto Conrad Gluch on the lambent "Winter Sweet" (on each of which Winstone, one of Wheeler's closest friends and collaborators, recites her own lyrics). Winstone and Liebman are showcased on the aptly named "Canter No. 1," which is spurred forward by Winstone's ethereal voice and Liebman's earnest soprano before crossing the finish line far too soon.

As for the orchestra, it performs Wheeler's rhapsodic themes as to the manor born, enfolding each phrase, no matter how subtle, with tender loving care. That awareness is echoed by Winstone and Liebman who do more than simply show up but give Wheeler his due by immersing themselves in the music. Those who admire Wheeler's point of view—and there are many—should be heartened by what the UTJO and its special guests have accomplished.

Track Listing: Sweet Ruby Suite; W.W.; Canter No. 1; Winter Sweet.

Personnel: Gordon Foote: music director; Austin Jones: trumpet; Marie Goudy: trumpet; Brad Eaton: trumpet; Max Forster: trumpet; Josh Stuckey: trumpet; Naomi Higgins, Conrad Gluch, Patrick Smith, Connor Newton, Alec Trent: saxophones; Zachary Smith: trombone; Jared Kirsh: trombone; Modibo Keita: trombone; Collins Saunders: trombone; Josh Smiley: piano; Christopher Platt: guitar; Victor Vrankulj: bass; Andrew Miller: drums. Guest artists – Dave Liebman: soprano saxophone; Norma Winstone: voice.

Title: Sweet Ruby Suite | Year Released: 2017 | Record Label: Self Produced


comments powered by Disqus

More Articles

Read OR CD/LP/Track Review OR
by Geno Thackara
Published: January 18, 2018
Read Reaching Out CD/LP/Track Review Reaching Out
by Mark Corroto
Published: January 18, 2018
Read The Songbook Project CD/LP/Track Review The Songbook Project
by Don Phipps
Published: January 18, 2018
Read Solo a Genova CD/LP/Track Review Solo a Genova
by Dan McClenaghan
Published: January 18, 2018
Read Satoko Fujii Solo CD/LP/Track Review Satoko Fujii Solo
by Karl Ackermann
Published: January 17, 2018
Read when the shade is stretched CD/LP/Track Review when the shade is stretched
by Mark Sullivan
Published: January 17, 2018
Read "Triple Double" CD/LP/Track Review Triple Double
by John Sharpe
Published: December 29, 2017
Read "Baby Talk" CD/LP/Track Review Baby Talk
by Mark Corroto
Published: August 14, 2017
Read "Backlog" CD/LP/Track Review Backlog
by Mark Sullivan
Published: May 17, 2017
Read "Autumn Wind" CD/LP/Track Review Autumn Wind
by Dan Bilawsky
Published: November 3, 2017
Read "Sonic Cinema" CD/LP/Track Review Sonic Cinema
by Glenn Astarita
Published: June 1, 2017
Read "The Seasons" CD/LP/Track Review The Seasons
by Troy Dostert
Published: April 11, 2017