Dear All About Jazz Readers,

If you're familiar with All About Jazz, you know that we've dedicated over two decades to supporting jazz as an art form, and more importantly, the creative musicians who make it. Our enduring commitment has made All About Jazz one of the most culturally important websites of its kind in the world reaching hundreds of thousands of readers every month. However, to expand our offerings and develop new means to foster jazz discovery we need your help.

You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky Google ads PLUS deliver exclusive content and provide access to future articles for a full year! This combination will not only improve your AAJ experience, it will allow us to continue to rigorously build on the great work we first started in 1995. Read on to view our project ideas...


Douyé: Quatro Bossa Nova Deluxe

Jim Worsley By

Sign in to view read count
Sultry songstress Douyé takes listeners by the hand and assuredly leads them through an enchanting and intoxicating stroll amidst the rich sounds of Brazil and the percussive shimmer of Africa. This sixteen-song effort is heartfelt and glides impeccably with a mood-enhancing glow. Throughout Quatro, Douye rides the crest of instrumental ripples that touch the shoreline with finesse and tenderness. A brilliant enclave of notable and accomplished jazz musicians adds their collective talents to an array of ensembles. Their buoyancy and fiber are at one with Douyé's innately sophisticated phrasing, connecting adroit musical passages with lyrical and captivating vocal interpretations. Her inherent artistry is softly yet boldly evident, as warmth and creativity line the path of a delightful and charismatic outing taking the listener on a journey to a world that can be joyfully visited again and again.

While paying homage to the popularity of bossa nova in the '50s and '60s, Quatro brings a modern sensibility to 21st century audiences. The underlying rhythmical layers present the samba and jazz-drenched tunes in a rich and discreetly dynamic manner. To not lose our way, this trip is marked with stylish renditions of timeless standards such as "Summer Samba," "Girl from Ipanema," the horn section-driven "Lover Man," and the Michel Legrand classic "Watch What Happens." Deeper into the adventure, Douyé displays an intuitive connection with songwriter Antonio Carlos Jobim. One can feel the heartbreak, anguish, and emotional despair on "How Insensitive." The lament of faded memories lingers on "Once I Loved." Spring is in the air and in step on "Aqua de Beber." Further into the Jobim catalog, her haunting take alongside pianist Otmaro Ruiz on "Corcavado" melds voice and instrument seamlessly, as does her duet with acoustic guitarist Marcel Camargo on "Desafinado." The voyage continues to the sea as Douyé surfs in tandem with flutist Justo Almario on a slowly cascading "Wave."

Douyé planted two songs written by the great jazz pianist Horace Silver near the end of the road. The tight groove on "Song for My Father" is followed by the fluid and polished big band sound of "Nica's Dream." The significant odyssey closes quietly and sensitively, once again dipping into the songbook of Jobim. She is joined only by acoustic guitarist Romero Lubambo, fittingly saying "so long" with grace, elegance, and aplomb.

Track Listing: Blue Bossa; Triste; How Insensitive; Aqua De Beber; Watch What Happens; Girl From Ipanema; One Note Samba; Once I Loved; Corcavado(Quiet Nights Of Quiet Stars); Summer Samba; Desafinado; Wave; Lover Man; Song For My Father; Nica's Dream; Dindi

Personnel: John Di Martino: piano; Paul Meyers: acoustic guitar; Boris Kozlov: electric bass; Duduka Da Fonseca; drums; Manolo Badrena: percussion; Jed Levy: soprano saxophone; Zack O'Farrill: drums; Mat Muntz: bass; Gabe Schnider: guitar; Otmaro Ruiz: piano; Romero Lubambo: acoustic guitar; Edwin Livingston: bass; Eduardo Guedes: drums; Justo Almaro: saxophone; Angelo Metz: guitar; Lex Korten: piano; Benjamin Tiberio: acoustic bass; Evan Hyde: drums; Sam Neufeld: flugelhorn; Dominic Carioti: tenor saxophone; Mike Eckroth: piano; Freddie Hendrix; flugelhorn; Marcel Camargo: acoustic guitar; Nanny Assis: percussion; Leo Costa: percussion;

Title: Quatro Bossa Nova Deluxe | Year Released: 2019 | Record Label: Groove Note Records



comments powered by Disqus


Start your shopping here and you'll support All About Jazz in the process. Learn how.

Related Articles

Read Friendly Signs Album Reviews
Friendly Signs
By Don Phipps
February 22, 2019
Read The Adventures of Mr Pottercakes Album Reviews
The Adventures of Mr Pottercakes
By Roger Farbey
February 22, 2019
Read Free Fall Album Reviews
Free Fall
By Glenn Astarita
February 22, 2019
Read The Largo And The Lame Album Reviews
The Largo And The Lame
By Mark Corroto
February 22, 2019
Read Sun Of Goldfinger Album Reviews
Sun Of Goldfinger
By Dan McClenaghan
February 22, 2019
Read Paint The Sky Album Reviews
Paint The Sky
By Andrew J. Sammut
February 21, 2019
Read God Is More Than Love Can Ever Be Album Reviews
God Is More Than Love Can Ever Be
By Karl Ackermann
February 21, 2019