Home » Jazz Musicians » Alex Lefaivre

Alex Lefaivre

Alex Lefaivre is a bassist, composer and pedagogue based in Montreal, Canada. He is a founding member of the Parc X Trio, winners of the TD Grand Prize for Jazz at the Festival de Jazz de Montréal (2010) that have produced 7 recordings. He is also a founding member of Multiple Chord Music (MCM), a jazz label which has released over fifty recordings from local artists such as Gentiane MG & Frank Lozano, Benjamin Deschamps, Rachel Therrien, Rémi- Jean LeBlanc, Joel Miller, François Jalbert & Jérôme Beaulieu.

As a solo artist, he released YUL (2018). Taking its name from Montreal’s airport code, Alex takes the listener on a cinematic trip through the city, where dreamy, hazy summer vibes are intertwined with a gritty, metropolitan edge. It received critic al acclaim and has been described as a terrific amalgamation of modernity and tradition, deploying a mature and cohesive musical vision, performed by a quartet which displays a wide variety of textures with a enthralling and lilting vigor.

Alex is also a rising star as a media composer in Quebec, scoring a variety of projects amongst which many are part of his home province’s comedy scene. His music can be heard on Mariana Mazza’s Maria, her full-length feature to be released in theatres August 21st 2021 as well as various web series featuring Rosalie Vaillancourt such as the upcoming Complètement Lycée (Winter 2022), Rosalie: La Comédie Musicale (Fall 2020) as well as Le Killing seasons 1 & 2.

He is currently a course lecturer and CIT Academic Advisor at l’École de musique Vincent- d’Indy, in Montréal. As a sideman, he has shared the stage and recorded with a wealth of local artists such as Michelle Sweeney, Joel Miller, Aliocha, Klo Pelgag, Kalmunity as well as co-writing with artists such as Sonia Johnson.

On August 27th 2021, he will release his sophomore quartet album entitled Naufragés (“Castaways”), featuring Erik Hove on alto saxophone, Nicolas Ferron on guitar and Alain Bourgeois on drums.

About the new album

Naufragés (“Castaways”), the new album which will be released on August 27th 2021 is firmly rooted in jazz presents a mix of five original compositions as well as three covers that reflect Alex’s contemporary aesthetic and visceral tone. After many failed attempts at scheduling the recording due to the various strict lockdown measures brought upon by the COVID 19 pandemic, the group finally managed to get together at Montreal’s Studio Madame Wood on April 5th 2021. Recorded over the course of two spontaneous sets of music, the listener can feel the urgency and sheer joy erupting out of Alex and his bandmates Erik Hove, alto saxophone, Nicolas Ferron on guitar and Alain Bourgeois on drums. The session was recorded and mixed by Simon l’Espérance and was mastered by Alex himself.

Read more


Take Five With...
Album Review
  • YUL by Geno Thackara
Radio & Podcasts
Read more articles
“Practitioners of an expressive modern jazz, the members of this quartet navigate different signature meters, maintaining typical song structures. The well-established communication among them drives us safely through reliable, engaging soundscapes.” - JazzTrail

“YUL is a cumulative success – reflecting Lefaivre’s mature, cohesive musical vision.” Colin Story, The Whole Note

“In YUL, his compositions make good use of the power of a quartet to create multiple textures and moods, and each instrumentalist is given room to take center stage within a tight and cohesive unit. A variety of approaches and high octane musicianship keep this release fresh and interesting.” Anya Wassenberg, All About Jazz

Read more

Primary Instrument




Willing to teach

Beginner to advanced


Album Discography

Recordings: As Leader | As Sideperson


Arté Boréal



Multiple Chord Music (MCM)


Immigrant Song

From: Naufragés
By Alex Lefaivre


From: YUL
By Alex Lefaivre


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.