All About Jazz

Home » Music » Song of the Day


Guiding Light by Will Bonness

From the album

Album Title: Change Of Plans
Label: Self Produced
Released: 2020


Sign in to view listen count

About the Album

Change of Plans, the third release from pianist Will Bonness, focuses on contrast, texture, and epic storytelling. The quintet – saxophone, voice, piano, bass, and drums – is arranged in different ways to create a unique mood for each song. There are duo, trio, quartet, and quintet tracks. Sometimes the vocalist sings with words, sometimes without, taking on the role of a second horn. The musicians are among Canada’s finest, including Jon Gordon (saxophone), Jocelyn Gould (voice), Julian Bradford (bass), and Fabio Ragnelli (drums). This music was written specifically for the Winnipeg-based band, with their unique talents and personalities infused into each song. Five original compositions are accompanied by a smattering of jazz standards (“I Love You” and “In the Wee Small Hours of the Morning”) and an alternative rock cover (“Bullet with Butterfly Wings”). Contrast and change are the themes of the album, which travels through several different vibes and grooves. “Burning Bridges,” the muscular, McCoy Tyner-esque opener, is followed by “In the Wee Small Hours of the Morning,” an introspective, tragic ballad. You will hear jazz-rock (“Bullet with Butterfly Wings”), jazz-pop (“Downpour”), and Brazilian and Afro-Cuban influenced beats (“Echo Chamber”). There is something to pique the interest of any jazz fan! Change of Plans was released worldwide on Friday, November 6th, 2020.

Song Listing

Burning Bridges; In the Wee Small Hours of the Morning; Echo Chamber; Guiding Light; I Love You; Out of the Ashes; Bullet with Butterfly Wings; Downpour


Jon Gordon
saxophone, alto
Julian Bradford
bass, acoustic

Date featured

December 18, 2020

This song appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.


Shop Amazon

Song of the Day


Un Poco Loco
Dave Bass
Up And Down
Yi Yunseon
Yi Yunseon
A Lisbon Song
Max Agnas
Big Nine
Hogo Fogo
For What It's Worth
Cathy Segal-Garcia

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.