Home » Jazz Musicians » The New Standards Discography » The New Standards Holiday Show Album

The New Standards Holiday Show Album

The New Standards Holiday Show Album by The New Standards
buy album

The New Standards

Label: Independent
Released: 2020
Views: 308


Nellie McKay
voice / vocals

Additional Personnel / Information

jeremy messersmith, vocals Chris Koza, vocals Aby Wolf, vocals

Album Description

We’ve just heard “The New Standards Holiday Show Album,” released last Friday. A consolation for the fact that there won’t be an in-person New Standards Holiday Show this year – after 13 consecutive years – its 40 minutes are filled with the band’s signature deconstructed holiday tunes. Ten of the 11 tracks were recorded earlier this year at Creation Studio in Minneapolis. Only one, “Silent Night” featuring Aby Wolf, is a live version from a holiday show. If you ever make a Christmas album, call Aby Wolf. There’s a joyous and swinging Big Band-style “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen.” A tuneful original by Jeremy Messersmith, “Everything is Magical.” (Not his “Let’s Ditch Christmas.” It’s probably not the year for that.) Chris Koza’s dreamy take on “Walking on Air” from the animated classic “The Snowman.” A tango-fied “Do You Hear What I Hear?” “The Christmas Waltz,” written by Sammy Cahn for Frank Sinatra, featuring Nellie McKay. A Beatles-flavored “Snow Days,” written by Matt Wilson. The closing track is a New Standards original, with upbeat music and up-to-the-minute lyrics: “So raise your glass and drink a toast/To the wish we wish the most/We’ll be together here/At Christmastime next year.” The New Standards are Chan Poling on piano and vocals, John Munson on bass and vocals, and Steve Roehm on vibraphone. In a statement, Poling said, “Making an album in a time of pandemic is a near impossible task. … We are just so damn proud of this record! It really feels like a capstone recording, a great way to stick a cherry on top of 15 years of working on these songs – and getting them out there in a year when we all need them the most.” -Pamela Espeland, minnpost.com


Album uploaded by Grant Flesland

Post a comment about this album

Album Reviews

Siwan: Hafla
Jon Balke
Head Borders
The Young Immigrants
Fire In The West
Neil Swainson
Blues Etudes
Rob Magill

Song of the Day

Lennie's Changes
Mathieu Soucy
The Snapper
Chris Humphrey
Caleb Wheeler Curtis

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.