All About Jazz

Home » Musicians » Discography » The Known Space Project

The Known Space Project

The Known Space Project by Brian Eaton
buy album

Brian Eaton

Label: Eatin' Records
Released: 2021
Views: 256

Track Listing

1. Trans-Neptunian Dust 2. Superheavy Metals of Ceres 3. Alone on Top of Ahuna Mons 4. Four String Theory 5. Dance of Alien Auroras 6. Not Where, but When 7. Jovian Empyrean 8. The Anthropic Principle: i. Cosmic Anticipation, ii. Racing Against the Omega Point 9. Northern Skies over Empty Space


Brian Eaton

Additional Personnel / Information

Brian Eaton - drums, percussion, bass, guitars, & keyboards; Bill Eaton - lead guitar on “Superheavy Metals of Ceres”; Produced & Engineered by Brian Eaton; Recorded, Mixed & Mastered by Brian Eaton at Eatin' Records, Portland, OR; All Music written & arranged by Brian Eaton and published by BSE Music (ASCAP)

Album Description

New album out 9/17/21 | The third full-length album by Brian Eaton. "Though a bit of a departure from his usual vocal rock sound, Eaton is no stranger to jazz/fusion. The new instrumental album consists of nine original compositions showcasing the multi-instrumentalist’s diversity as a multi-genre artist. "Eaton’s new project is an eclectic expanse of ethereal atmospheres and fields of magnetic, lyrical melodies orbiting a core of contemporary jazz and prog idioms. Listeners will find elements of jazz, prog rock, nu-jazz, world, R&B, ambient big spaces, and soundtrack vibes within the record. The opening track, 'Trans-Neptunian Dust,' features hypnotic, harmonizing horns with an infectious, smooth, jazzy groove, while 'Superheavy Metals of Ceres' rocks with saturated guitars and keyboards trading solos over a syncopated, weighty rhythm section. The latter features Eaton’s brother, Bill, on lead guitar, who’s played with former Guns N’ Roses guitarist Gilby Clarke. "The ballads, like the captivating 'Alone on Top of Ahuna Mons' and the majestically optimistic 'Jovian Empyrean,' with its ever-rotating key signatures, revolve around piano and strings and feature electric bass guitar performing lyrical melodies. In fact, the bass is the featured lead instrument for much of the album including the proggy, upbeat 'Four String Theory,' in which all the tracks for the entire song (including the drum/percussion sounds) were created using bass guitar making it quite unique." — Bass Musician Magazine


Album uploaded by Eatin' Records


Post a comment about this album

Shop Amazon

Album Reviews

A New Dawn
Marius Neset
Il Sogno
Chick Corea Akoustic Band with John Patitucci &...
Detail - 90
Frode Gjerstad / Kent Carter / John Stevens
Alex Jenkins Trio
Gaetano Letizia

Song of the Day

Andres Hayes
Aaj Rang Hai
Charu Suri
Night Owl
Scarlet Lullaby
Alex Jenkins

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.