Dear All About Jazz Readers,

If you're familiar with All About Jazz, you know that we've dedicated over two decades to supporting jazz as an art form, and more importantly, the creative musicians who make it. Our enduring commitment has made All About Jazz one of the most culturally important websites of its kind in the world reaching hundreds of thousands of readers every month. However, to expand our offerings and develop new means to foster jazz discovery we need your help.

You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky Google ads PLUS deliver exclusive content and provide access to future articles for a full year! This combination will not only improve your AAJ experience, it will allow us to continue to rigorously build on the great work we first started in 1995. Read on to view our project ideas...


Hannes Riepler: Wild Life

Bruce Lindsay By

Sign in to view read count
Austrian-born guitarist and composer Hannes Riepler moved to the UK a decade ago, releasing debut album The Brave (Jellymould Jazz) in 2012. Wild Life is his second album: with a new and slightly stripped-down line-up (no keyboards this time around) it's an equally impressive outing.

Most of the tunes are Riepler's originals—there's also experienced saxophonist and new band member Chris Cheek's "Sailing Ships" and a cover of Beck's "Modern Guilt." The tracks are all between four and eight minutes in length, giving the band time to explore the melodies but not so much time that the playing becomes repetitive or loses its way.

"One Shot" sets up the mood for much of the album. The music flows gracefully, as it did on the debut release: there's plenty of forward motion from drummer James Maddren but everything stays under control. There's a calmness about the band's playing, a meditative quality, even at reasonably fast tempos. The sound created by Riepler and Cheek helps to cultivate this mood. Both musicians play with a warm and mellifluous tone: in Riepler's case this applies whether he's playing lead lines or comping under Cheek's solos.

"Gillett Square Blues" may well be a tribute to the London square that's home to the famous Vortex jazz club. It's a lively, positive, tune although Cheek's contribution is a touch less celebratory than the others'—perhaps because he's less familiar with the square than are his fellow musicians. Cheek's own tune, "Sailing Ships," is one of the catchiest and most immediately engaging: "Modern Guilt" has a slightly rockier feel than the rest of the numbers, bringing an engaging jam band feel to the album.

Wild Life is not an album that grabs the listener by the collar first time around. It takes its time, gaining attention over repeated plays as the tunes insinuate themselves into the consciousness—and it's all the better for it.

Track Listing: One Shot; Gillett Square Blues; Wild Life; Nothing New...Just Beautiful; Sailing Ships; Golden Rainbow; The Storm; Modern Guilt.

Personnel: Hannes Riepler: guitar; Chris Cheek: tenor saxophone; Oli Hayhurst: double bass; James Maddren: drums.

Title: Wild Life | Year Released: 2016 | Record Label: Jellymould Jazz


comments powered by Disqus

Album Reviews
Read more articles
Wild Life

Wild Life

Jellymould Jazz

The Brave

The Brave

Jellymould Jazz



Start your shopping here and you'll support All About Jazz in the process. Learn how.

Related Articles

Read East Of The River Nile Album Reviews
East Of The River Nile
By Chris May
February 23, 2019
Read VOX Album Reviews
By Friedrich Kunzmann
February 23, 2019
Read live@ZKM Album Reviews
By Bruce Lindsay
February 23, 2019
Read cinder: ember: ashes Album Reviews
cinder: ember: ashes
By Glenn Astarita
February 23, 2019
Read Amour Album Reviews
By Doug Collette
February 23, 2019
Read Friendly Signs Album Reviews
Friendly Signs
By Don Phipps
February 22, 2019
Read The Adventures of Mr Pottercakes Album Reviews
The Adventures of Mr Pottercakes
By Roger Farbey
February 22, 2019