44

Peter Gabriel: North American Tour

SOURCE:

Sign in to view read count
TOUR TO FEATURE ORCHESTRAL MAKEOVER OF GABRIEL BACK CATALOGUE

Legendary singer, songwriter and musician Peter Gabriel will tour North America this summer with the New Blood orchestra.

On his last outing, Gabriel redrew the works of Lou Reed, David Bowie, Radiohead. This time out he applies the orchestral makeover to his own back catalogue. The stunning musical backdrop leaves Gabriel's vocals centre-stage and bare, stripped of the usual rock'n'roll clothing, no loud guitars or booming drums to hide behind. Raw and soul-baring yet passionate and often joyous, Gabriel's classic songs here take new shape and extra meaning.

This tour is an opportunity to experience the reinvention of an iconic song selection, from “Red Rain" to “San Jacinto," “Digging in the Dirt" to “Don't Give Up," before the album release of New Blood later this year.

PETER GABRIEL TOUR DATES

  • 06/10/11 Fri Greek Theatre Berkeley, CA
  • 06/11/11 Sat Santa Barbara Bowl Santa Barbara, CA
  • 06/13/11 Mon Red Rocks Amphitheatre Morrison, CO
  • 06/15/11 Wed Verizon Theatre (Formerly Nokia Theatre) Grand Prairie, TX
  • 06/16/11 Thu Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion The Woodlands, TX
  • 06/18/11 Sat Starlight Theatre Kansas City, MO
  • 06/20/11 Mon United Center Chicago, IL
  • 06/22/11 Wed Molson Canadian Amphitheatre Toronto, ON
  • 06/24/11 Fri Comcast Center (Great Woods) Mansfield, MA
  • 06/25/11 Sat Susquehanna Bank Center Camden, NJ
  • 06/27/11 Mon Saratoga Performing Arts Center Saratoga Springs, NY

Continue Reading...

This story appears courtesy of JamBase.
Copyright © 2021. All rights reserved.

Post a comment

Tags

Jazz News

Popular

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.