Continuum, A Journey Through Jazz - "New Grooves"


Sign in to view read count
Soulandjazz.com Presents: Continuum—A Journey Through Jazz
Episode 19: “New Grooves"

Hosted and Produced by J. Scott Fugate, “The Jazz Evangelist"

As always, it's absolutely free, completely legal, recorded in rich CD quality, fun for the whole family, and available to listen to right here.

I thought it was about time I got my groove back, so I present you with twelve tracks that I've been enjoying this summer to facilitate your own personal groove in these final days of the season.

We start the party with something new from Richard Earnshaw and move immediately to current tunes from old masters of Funk & Fusion—Stanley Clarke, George Duke, and Lenny White. We also hear new songs in a style that used be known as 'Acid Jazz' from Incognito, Live Tropical Fish, Elizabeth Shepherd, and Dorian Wright . . . today I think we just call this style of music 'good' and 'funky.' If you stick with the groove straight through, you'll also hear some new music that's hard to classify in a singular genre from Derek Frank, Gerardo Frisina, Big Band Splash and Claudia Hayden.

All in all it's a stone cold gas with some Jazz, Funk, Soul, R&B and Latin mixed in a brand new bag full of groove gumbo. So, kick back, dig, and enjoy the ride!

If you have any comments, questions, ideas, suggestions or submissions—as always, I would love to hear from you at [email protected]

PLAYLIST: Continuum—A Journey Through Jazz
Episode 19—"New Grooves"

Richard Earnshaw—"Green Room"—In Time�—(Groovefinder)

Stanley Clarke—"I Want To Play For You"—The Stanley Clarke Band�- (Heads Up)

George Duke—"Stupid Is As Stupid Does"—Déjà Vu�- (Heads Up)

Lenny White—"Dark Moon"—Anomaly�—(AbstactLogix)

Incognito (feat. Vanessa Haynes)—"Life Ain't Nothing But A Good Thing"—Transatlantic R.P.M.�- (Shanachie)

Live Tropical Fish (feat. Alison Crockett)—"Slide Away"—The Day Is Too Short To Be Selfish�- (LTF)

Elizabeth Shepherd—"It's Coming"—Heavy Falls The Night�- (Do Right!)

Dorian Wright—"You Got A Bad Thing"—Mind Full Of Music�- (L Records)

Derek Frank—"Smack Dab"—Let The Games Begin�- (Derek Frank)

Gerardo Frisina—"High Hat"—Join The Dance�- (Schema)

Big Band Splash—"East Of The Funk"—Another Apple�- (Wime)

Claudia Hayden—"Jaguars On The Prowl"—Abstact�—(Claudia Hayden)

Music Bed Provided by: Jeff Lorber Fusion—"Pixel"—Now Is The Time�—(Heads Up)

Continue Reading...

Visit Website

Post a comment


Jazz News


Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.