Home » Musicians » Ulrich Krieger

Ulrich Krieger

Ulrich Krieger is a composer, performer, improviser and experimental rock musician. His main instruments are saxophones, clarinets, didjeridu and electronics. He calls his style of playing ‘acoustic electronics’, using sounds, that appear to be electronic, but are produced on acoustic instruments and then sometimes electronically treated, blurring the borders between the fields. Krieger transcribed Lou Reed's (in)famous Metal Machine Music for chamber ensemble and works with groups like Text of Light (with Lee Ranaldo) and zerfall�”gebiete (with Thomas Koner) in the nirvana between experimental rock, ambient and contemporary composition.

Born 1962, in Freiburg, Germany, he lived in Berlin from 1983-2007 with longer residencies in the USA and Italy from 1991-97. In September 2007 he moved to California, where he is professor for composition and experimental sound practice at the 'California Institute for the Arts'. He studied classical saxophone, composition, electronic music and musicology at the Manhattan School of Music (NYC), the Universität der Künste (Berlin) and the Freie Universität (Berlin), as well as pursuing independent studies and research in the didjeridu and Australian Aboriginal music and culture. Krieger has worked with Lou Reed, Lee Ranaldo, Phill Niblock, David First, Thomas Köner, Alan Licht, Michiko Hirayama, Witold Szalonek, Mario Bertoncini, Miriam Marbe, Seth Josel, Zbigniew Karkowski, Merzbow, zeitkratzer and many others performing in Europe, North-America, Asia and Australia.

Read more





Intakt Records




Shop Amazon

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.