Home » Jazz Musicians » 8 Legged Monster

8 Legged Monster

The 8 Legged Monster was born to improve upon and keep the tradition of the small-big-band moving forward for a new generation. Since its inception, the 8 Legged Monster has been turning heads in the Bay Area's Jazz community. Founder Mike Irwin's arrangements offer the classic sound of early Bebop, yet with an entirely new attitude and approach to harmony. The Monster has such a distinct sound because they encompass all the musical styles that the jazz lineage has passed through, from Swing to free-jazz, yet bring to it an original, fresh sound. Already a fast favorite amongst the SF jazz community of musicians, they're one of the most entertaining and fun new bands to see.

The Band Members are: Mike Irwin Johnson (guitar/arr.), Mike Olmos (trumpet), Rob Barics (clarinet), Joe Cohen (alto sax), Noel Jewkes (tenor sax), Danny Grewen (trombone), Fil Lorenz (baritone sax), Jaz Sawyer (drums) & Eric Markowitz (bass).




"This is an excellent group led by a talented young arranger whose garden-fresh blueprints deserve to be more widely heard and appreciated." - Jack Bowers, allaboutjazz.com




Charles Mingus
bass, acoustic
Johnny Hodges
saxophone, alto
Gerry Mulligan
saxophone, baritone
Gil Evans
composer / conductor
City Rhythm Orchestra
band / ensemble / orchestra
Brian VanArsdale
saxophone, tenor
Knoxville Jazz Orchestra
band / ensemble / orchestra
Marty Paich
composer / conductor
Mike Barone
composer / conductor

Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.