JMancera: Mancera #5

Dan Bilawsky By

Sign in to view read count
Contemporary jazz can't compare to its straight-ahead and left-of-center relatives in terms of complexity, weight, and scope, but that doesn't mean it has absolutely nothing to give. The masses who are taken with this form of music are well aware that it offers an escape, giving off thoughts of sunny days, sandy beaches, and starry nights. It's certainly not for everyone, but the relatively simple hooks, buoyant grooves, and generally pleasant atmospheres that are endemic to the universe of smooth(er) jazz have their own sweet charms. That comes through clearly on Mancera #5.

Saxophonist Jaime Mancera—a.k.a JMancera—delivers thirteen originals here, touching on upbeat moods and low-key loveliness. Rock grooves, Latin inflections, dance floor suggestions, contemplative melodies, and electric allure are all part of the package. Mancera's saxophone sashays atop rock solid foundations provided by drummer Nate Wood and bassist Jeff Berlin, two powerhouse musicians who tone things down to keep everything simple, and his melodies are ably supported and propped up by the architectural work of guitarist Nick Moroch and keyboardist Sean Wayland. Memo Acevedo fills out the roster, adding percussive seasoning and filigree to these easy-to-digest numbers.

As with most smooth jazz, uncomplicated lyricism and good vibes are the main selling points. Mancera's brand of music is joyful and expressive contemporary jazz that serves to lighten the mood and lift spirits. There's nothing to bowl you over in this work, but that's quite alright. Mancera gets the job done, putting his own voice out there while also fitting neatly within a certain musical niche.

Track Listing

Mancera #5; Hola Sunshine; You Are Always There; Ready To Fight; Rico Swing; State Of Love; Sunset Silhouettes; Cumbanchando; Mediterranean Flavor; Reflections; Today I Was Born; Come To Me; Swinging Skirt.


JMancera: saxophones; Jeff Berlin: bass guitar; Sean Wayland: keyboards; Nick Moroch: guitars; Nate Wood: drums; Memo Acevedo: percussion.

Album information

Title: Mancera #5 | Year Released: 2016 | Record Label: Self Produced


Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Related Articles

Read Morning Light
Morning Light
By David A. Orthmann
Read Berit In Space
Berit In Space
By Mark Corroto
Read Cherry Jam
Cherry Jam
By Karl Ackermann
Read Live In Willisau
Live In Willisau
By Troy Dostert
Read Serenity Island
Serenity Island
By Mike Jurkovic
Read Albare Plays Jobim
Albare Plays Jobim
By Edward Blanco
Read Ecology
By Toj Samaz