A Musical Journey with Mariel Spencer Austin

Nick Davies By

Sign in to view read count

Click the play button to listen to this episode of .

This show features an interview with trombonist and composer Mariel Austin talking about her career in music especially the journey from choirs to the trombone. We also discuss her latest album Runner in the Rain. As this is jazz show there is lots of new music and some tracks from the archives as well as an album of the week which is Melodic Ornette Coleman: Piano Works XIII by Joachim Kuhn


  • Duncan Eagles "Citizen" from Citizen (Ropeadope) 1:56
  • Frank Kimbrough "Light Blue" fromMonk's Dreams (Sunnyside Records) 10:04
  • Iris Ornig "25" from Storyteller (Self-Produced) 16:18
  • Itamar Borochov "Revolutionizin" from Blue Nights (Labore Jazz) 22:24
  • Lucas Pino "Horse of a Different Colour" from That's A Computer(Outside in Music) 31:01
  • Mehmet Polat "Hasret" from Ageless Garden (Afgtlab Records) 39.06
  • Miho Hazama "Today Not Today" from Dancer In Nowhere (Sunnyside Records) 48:20
  • Ninjula "Rat Trap" from Bass N Honey (Ragtime Records) 56:37
  • Interview and music from Mariel Spencer Austin 1:01:47
  • Album of the Week Joachim Kuhn Melodic Ornette Coleman: Piano Works XIII (ACT) 2:00:44

Post a comment


Shop Amazon


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, shelter in place and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary effort that will help musicians now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the bottom right video ad). Thank you.

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.