Evan Parker: Crepuscule In Nickelsdorf 

Glenn Astarita By

Sign in to view read count
This is another bright spot in acclaimed British saxophonist Evan Parker's extensive career. Along with Matthew Wright's turntable and live sampling activities, Trance Map emanates from the duo's meeting in 2008, for a project that includes field recordings, samples and other EFX-based mediums merged into improvisational creations. It's an electro-organic infusion, complete with the sounds of nature and Parker's circular, whirling and cyclical sax phrasings—a process and technique that he patented and developed into a signature stylization many years ago.

Recorded live at Jazz Festival Nickelsdorf in Austria, the audience must have been transitioned into a mesmeric state. The album title is based on a seven-part set of interweaving movements: Crepuscule in Nickelsdorf. Part 1—Part 7. Adam Linson handles the double bass in addition to electronics; whereas John Coxon (turntable, electronics) and Ashley Wales (electronics) are the members of the Spring Heel Jack duo, and recorded with Parker on the album With Birds (2004), which is dedicated to Herculean soprano saxophonist Steve Lacy, who passed away in 2004.

Each movement is devised with a spherical flow as the electronics performers swirl, mimic and contrast the saxophonist's perpetual motion with the sound of birds, insects, waterfalls and sizzling treatments. However, the repetitive nature is simply a moveable foundation since no piece is built on a hardened or recurring theme, although melodies are subliminally ingrained into these supple currents that do convey a similar motif during numerous passages throughout. Of course Parker is a force of energy via his chameleonic voicings, blending in with the synth manipulations, turntable scratching and Wright's live sampling.

The layering and treatments—although distinct—uncannily morph into a semblance of a singular musical entity in such a way that might parallel a cluster of bees building a hive, where the workers combine their knowhow to achieve a common goal. Indeed, the audience's rousing applause at the end of the presentation confirms a sense of gratification that cannot be put into words.

Track Listing: Crepuscule In Nickelsdorf. Part 1; Crepuscule In Nickelsdorf. Part 2; Crepuscule In Nickelsdorf. Part 3; Crepuscule In Nickelsdorf. Part 4; Crepuscule In Nickelsdorf. Part 5; Crepuscule In Nickelsdorf. Part 6; Crepuscule In Nickelsdorf. Part 7.

Personnel: Evan Parker: soprano saxophone; Matthew Wright: turntable, live sampling; Adam Linson: double bass, electronics; John Coxon: turntable, electronics; Ashley Wales: electronics.

Title: Crepuscule In Nickelsdorf  | Year Released: 2019 | Record Label: Intakt Records

About Evan Parker
Articles | Calendar | Discography | Photos | More...


Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.