A Focus on Matthew Shipp

Bob Osborne By

Sign in to view read count

Click the play button to listen to this episode of .

This time around a focus on master pianist and composer Matthew Shipp with a selection of material from across his career. In between new music from post-EST super-group Rymden and more selections from the highly talented William Tatge.


  • Matthew Shipp Trio "Signature" from Signature (ESP Disc) 00:00
  • William Tatge Trio "Hidden Agenda" from General Cargo (Brooklyn Jazz Underground) 07:32
  • Rymden "Reflections" from Reflections and Odysseys (Jazzland) 15:27
  • Matthew Shipp "Gamma Ray" from Invisible Touch at Taktlos Zurich (Hatology) 17:22
  • Matthew Shipp Trio with Nicole Mitchell "Void of Ground" from All Things Are (Rogueart) 23:29
  • Matthew Shipp Trio "Stage Ten" from Signature (ESP Disc) 30:20
  • William Tatge Trio "Civilisation" from General Cargo (Brooklyn Jazz Underground) 35:36
  • Rymden "The Lugubrious Youth of Lucky Luke" from Reflections and Odysseys (Jazzland) 43:24
  • Matthew Shipp "Syntax" from Matthew Shipp's New Orbit (Thirsty Ear) 50:36
  • Matthew Shipp, Sabir Mateen "Sama Four" from Sama (Not Two Records) 58:24
  • Matthew Shipp Quartet Declared Enemy "Our Lady of the Flowers" from Our Lady of the Flowers (Rogueart) 1:06:12
  • Rymden "Råk" from Reflections and Odysseys (Jazzland) 1:17:21
  • Matthew Shipp Chamber Ensemble "Chapter 8" from The Gospel According To Matthew & Michael (Relative Pitch Records) 1:24:48
  • William Tatge Trio "Mother of Nothing" from General Cargo (Brooklyn Jazz Underground) 1:32:07
  • Matthew Shipp Trio "The Matrix" from Signature (ESP Disc) 1:41:36


Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Related Articles