Dear All About Jazz Readers,

If you're familiar with All About Jazz, you know that we've dedicated over two decades to supporting jazz as an art form, and more importantly, the creative musicians who make it. Our enduring commitment has made All About Jazz one of the most culturally important websites of its kind in the world reaching hundreds of thousands of readers every month. However, to expand our offerings and develop new means to foster jazz discovery we need your help.

You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky Google ads PLUS deliver exclusive content and provide access to future articles for a full year! This combination will not only improve your AAJ experience, it will allow us to continue to rigorously build on the great work we first started in 1995. Read on to view our project ideas...


Casper Nyvang Rask's "Slow Evolution Ensemble": Slow Evolution Ensemble

Dan McClenaghan By

Sign in to view read count
Artists presenting their debut album usually draw heavily on their influences, and end up sounding like them, in a watered down way. Danish bassist Casper Nyvang Rask takes a different tangent, assembling his "Slow Evolution Ensemble"—five reeds, two drummers, and two double bass players—to create a unique and personal sound of an engaging avant-garde variety.

On the personal side, three of the six original compositions explore the intricacies of Rask's experience of the stroke suffered by his father. Indeed, the opener, "Chaffinch (Goodbye Forever)," with its dense an inexorable wash of unison reeds feels like the sound of the universe seeping into a stunned and grieving mind. The set's closer, "Slow Evolution in NO871" (room NO871 was Rask's father's hospital room after the brain damage hit) sounds like a loved one's internal symphony, experienced from a chair in a darkened room of a shrouded relative, surrounded by the electronic monitors of failing life systems. And the brief "Chaffinch (Goodbye)" is a second farewell, one that is ultimately less anguished that might be coming from a more accepting-of-the-situation perspective.

Where the three tributes to his father unfold in a slow and inevitable evolution, with great patience, outside of time, "Alan Silva, zum Bespiel" tips a hat to American free jazz bassist Alan Silva, with a sound the starts out in a stately manner, that soon devolves into a squabbling chaos that gels into a measured whimsy, while "Threeleggeddog" and "Marzahn" both showcase the ensemble's beautiful interplay in a multiple reeds celebration, soundscapes spiced with a dash of Rask's subtle and deft use of midikeys.

And give credit to Gotta Let It Out Records for presenting new talent—in 2018 it was pianist Nikita Rafaelov with Spirit Of Gaia; in 2019 it's Casper Nyvang Rask's Slow Evolution Ensemble.

Track Listing: Chaffinch (Goodbye Forever); Alan Silva, zum Beispiel; Threeleggeddog; Marzahn; Chaffinch (Goodbye); Slow Evolution in NO871.

Personnel: Francesco Bigoni: tenor saxophone, clarinets; Henrik Pultz Melbye: tenor saxophone, clarinets; Mads Egetoft: tenor saxophone; Laura Toxværd: alto saxophone (2, 3 & 4); Lars Greve: tenor saxophone, clarinet (6); Ole Mofjell: drums (6); Bjørn Heebøll: drums; Roberto Bordiga: double bass; Casper Nyvang Rask: double bass, all keys.

Title: Slow Evolution Ensemble | Year Released: 2019 | Record Label: Gotta Let It Out



comments powered by Disqus

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Related Articles

Read We Are On The Edge: A 50th Anniversary Celebration Album Reviews
We Are On The Edge: A 50th Anniversary Celebration
By Mark Corroto
April 25, 2019
Read Golem Dance Album Reviews
Golem Dance
By Friedrich Kunzmann
April 25, 2019
Read New Jazz Standards, Vol. 4 Album Reviews
New Jazz Standards, Vol. 4
By Dan Bilawsky
April 24, 2019
Read Open Form For Society Album Reviews
Open Form For Society
By Mark Corroto
April 24, 2019
Read Yes Album Reviews
By John Sharpe
April 24, 2019
Read Avec le temps Album Reviews
Avec le temps
By Mark Sullivan
April 23, 2019
Read Snaketime: The Music Of Moondog Album Reviews
Snaketime: The Music Of Moondog
By Mark Corroto
April 23, 2019