Home » Jazz News » Recording


Calgary Singer-Songwriter Ellen Doty To Release Debut Album Gold On May 29, 2014


Sign in to view read count

“Doty’s talents, both as a vocalist and a songwriter, allow her to effortlessly marry her jazz side with a more polished contemporary approach that pulls from blue-eyed soul and hand-clap pop. The result is not only widespread appeal — from purists to those with an aversion — but a sound that’s truly unique.” Mike Bell, Calgary Herald

May 13, 2014: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

The soulful vocalist and songwriter, Ellen Doty of Calgary, Alberta, will release her much-anticipated debut full album titled Gold on May 29th, 2014. The album features ten original compositions, including a co-write with Danny Michel (of Six Shooter Records) and a track by Toronto songwriter Kyle Zavitz. The official Gold album launch will take place in Doty’s hometown of Calgary, with two shows at the historic Ironwood Stage on May 29th and May 30th, 2014.

The debut single from Gold is “No Good Man”, a jazz-blues song with sultry vocals that tells the story of a 1950's housewife with a no good husband. The song features Tristan Campbell on trombone. Doty will launch the single along with a video on June 11th, 2014. The video will be produced by Vancouver’s Collide Entertainment, made possible with a grant from Public Records/Telus.

Citing influences from legendary singers like Nat King Cole and Ella Fitzgerald, to modern artists like Michael Bublé and Norah Jones, Doty's music is an organic blend of traditional jazz and easy-listening pop. “By turns sultry and smooth, jazzy and funky, Doty delves deep into the musical past while still keeping an eye on the future.” wrote Tom Murray of the Edmonton Journal. In 2013, Ellen Doty was the recipient of the ‘Outstanding Soloist’ award from the Lionel Hampton Jazz Festival at the University of Idaho and she completed a Banff Centre Artist Residency for collaborative song-writing at the prestigious Banff Centre in Banff, Alberta. In May 2013, she received an album production grant for Gold by the Alberta Foundation for the Arts.

Gold is a follow up to Doty’s six-song self-produced EP, That’s Love, that was released independently and launched to a sold-out crowd at Calgary’s Plaza Theatre in Kensington in May 2013. The songs on this EP range from intimate, jazz-infused ballads like “Come Closer”, to driving Latin-pop with “Why Can't You Be My Man?”, to the bossa-nova tune “Love You First”,a song that received airplay on CBC Radio and Alberta's CKUA Radio. That’s Love spent several weeks at the #1 position on the CJSW Jazz chart, and reached #3 on the Top 50 chart. In 2012, Ellen Doty was selected as a Top 20 finalist (out of four thousand submissions) on Canada’s Got Talent, the Canadian reality talent show series that debuted on the City television network.

Ellen Doty recently completed a 15-city Crowdfunded tour of Western Canada that was sponsored by Alberta Music, Derks Formal Wear, Fairmont Hotels, Zoom Media, McCallum Printing and designer Sydney Evans. The tour was kicked off with a sold out show at the Cellar Jazz Club in Vancouver in July 2013, and ended with a full house at the Ironwood Stage in Calgary in August 2013. In the fall of 2014, Doty will embark on a Canadian tour in support of Gold with her quartet that features Vancouver’s Daniel Reynolds on piano, London, Ontario’s Conrad Good on upright bass, and Calgary saxophonist and percussionist Oliver Miguel.

Ellen Doty is excited to bring her music to the masses: “This album truly reflects who I am as an artist. Not only is it organic blend of pop and jazz, but it gives you a window into my very deepest thoughts and feelings. I couldn’t be more excited to share it with the world! It’s my gold.”

Gold will be released independently and available on iTunes, Spotify, Amazon, Rdio, and more.

Compositions by: Ellen Doty (SOCAN), except #5 by Kyle Zavitz. Ellen Doty has full licensing rights for all 11 tracks. Tracklisting: 1. Diamond From Cole (3:30); 2. Perfect Day (3:40); 3. Restless Heart (4:58); 4. No Good Man (4:23); 5. Wait For Your Call (5:30); 6. I Think I’m in Love (4:09); 7. Tonight (4:27); 8. Say You Will (2:41); 9. I Fall for You Again (4:15); 10. Gold (4:32); 11. Lullaby (4:07)

Featuring: Ellen Doty – Vocals, Josh Crowhurst - Guitar , Efa Etoroma Jr. - Drums (Yamaha Drums Artist) , Conrad Good – Bass, Daniel Reynolds - Piano and Rhodes, Oliver Miguel -Alto and Tenor Saxophones (SeaWind Musical Instruments Artist), Tristan Campbell – Trombone, Al Muirhead – Trumpet, Pat Belliveau - Baritone Saxophone (Yamaha Saxophone Artist), Steve Dierkens - Shaker and Tambourine.

Visit Website

For more information contact .





Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.