Home » Jazz Musicians » Epirus Quartet

Epirus Quartet

Epirus Quartet is a world jazz/groove band from Austin, TX. Its members are Greek saxophone player Nikolas Bouklas, Nathan "Count" Basinger on organ, Brad Houser on bass and Michael Ingber on drums. Epirus Quartet has a groove heavy approach to jazz with many world and funk influences. Their debut album "Transatlantic" came out in Jun 2014 through Fair Weather Friends Records (UK, GR) co-produced by Adrian Quesada (Prince, Grupo Fantasma, Brownout etc) and Nikolas Bouklas. All the songs were composed through a collaboration of Nikolas Bouklas and Charalampos Tyropoulos. It featured guest appearances from Adrian Quesada on guitar and Ryan Allen on tenor saxophone. Epirus Quartet perform live collaborating frequently with Michael Patrick St.Clair on trombone and Bob VIlwock on organ.

The members of Epirus Quartet have a wide variety of musical collaborations, having played along the Temptations, Latasha Lee and The Blackties, Diplomats of Solid Sound, The Filthy Six, Critters Buggin, The Dead Kenny G's, Cayetano, etc.


Album Review
Read more articles
"Co-produced by Bouklas and Quesada, Transatlantic sounds terrific. Warm and rich, it's a great advertisement for the continued existence of the vinyl record— and, of course, it's a great advertisement for the Epirus Quartet." AllAboutJazz.com (4.5/5 star review)

" From slow paced Soul-Jazz to upbeat Funk and Afro-inspired grooves, this Austin band radiate rawness in music for an expressive approach and style driven by soulful sound, fusion and memorable improvisation." CollectorsItem


Album Discography


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and includes upcoming jazz events near you.