Home » Music » Song of the Day


Smile by Bill Warfield

From the album

Album Title: Smile
Label: Planet Arts Records
Released: 2020


Sign in to view listen count

About the Album

On their exciting new album, Smile, Bill Warfield and the Hell’s Kitchen Funk Orchestra not only fire on all cylinders, they run every yellow caution light. What other band would take on such stylistically disparate tunes as Booker T. and the MGs’ “Hip Hug-Her,” Weather Report’s “Cucumber Slumber,” the Eurythmics’ “The City Never Sleeps,” and the Charles Chaplin evergreen, “Smile”?

For listeners, the risks are amply rewarded. For Warfield and his one-of-a-kind little big band, all that matters is that the music cooks. “We had so much fun making this album, and I think it sounds it,” said the storied trumpeter and arranger. “For me, that’s what it’s all about.”

"Smile" features vocalist Julie Michels.

Song Listing

Smile; Cucumber Slumber; Hip-Hug-Her; Ode To Billie Joe; First Time On A Ferris Wheel; Dance of the Coal Cars; Mad Dog; Rainbow Connection; I’ve Got To Use My Imagination; Theme From Law and Order; This City Never Sleeps; Smile


Julie Michels
voice / vocals
John Eckert
Andrew Gould
Jane Stuart
voice / vocals
Dave Riekenberg
Paul Shaffer
Cecilia Coleman
Lou Marini
Matt Hong
saxophone, baritone
Carolyn Leonhart
voice / vocals

Additional Personnel

Bill Warfield: leader, arranger, trumpet, flugelhorn Jane Stuart: vocals (tracks 4,5 and 9) John Eckert: trumpet, flugelhorn Andrew Gould: alto sax, flute Dave Riekenberg: tenor sax, baritone sax, flute, clarinet Matt Hong: baritone sax, alto sax, flute Blue Lou Marini: tenor sax, soprano sax, flute, clarinet Matt Chertkoff: guitar Cecilia Coleman: piano Paul Shaffer: Hammond B-3 organ, Fender Rhodes electric piano Steve Count: electric and acoustic bass Scott Neumann: drums Julie Michels track 1, Carolyn Leonhart track 8: guest vocalists


Date featured

July 1, 2020

This song appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.

Song of the Day

Toy Trumpet
Jeremy Cohen
Without a Song
Stephen Jones
Titan vs. Sphinx
Charlie Apicella


Brad Goode
God Bless the Child
Tobin Mueller
Paws Up
Oleksandr Kolosii
Cinco 4
Pedro Henry
Meridian 63
Felipe Salles
Love Lost on a Bar Napkin
Wide-Eyed Lounge Cats
Her Triumph
Xose Miguelez

Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.