All About Jazz

Home » Music » Song of the Day


Not Where, But When (Radio Edit) by Brian Eaton

From the album

Album Title: The Known Space Project
Label: Eatin' Records
Released: 2021


Sign in to view listen count

About the Album

This track features trumpet with strings and electric piano with a traditional chord progression. The Known Space Project, the new album by Brian Eaton available everywhere 17 SEP 2021, and available for Pre-Order now. The third full-length album by Brian Eaton. "Though a bit of a departure from his usual vocal rock sound, Eaton is no stranger to jazz/fusion. The new instrumental album consists of nine original compositions showcasing the multi-instrumentalist’s diversity as a multi-genre artist. "Eaton’s new project is an eclectic expanse of ethereal atmospheres and fields of magnetic, lyrical melodies orbiting a core of contemporary jazz and prog idioms. Listeners will find elements of jazz, prog rock, nu-jazz, world, R&B, ambient big spaces, and soundtrack vibes within the record. The opening track, 'Trans-Neptunian Dust,' features hypnotic, harmonizing horns with an infectious, smooth, jazzy groove, while 'Superheavy Metals of Ceres' rocks with saturated guitars and keyboards trading solos over a syncopated, weighty rhythm section. The latter features Eaton’s brother, Bill, on lead guitar, who’s played with former Guns N’ Roses guitarist Gilby Clarke. "The ballads, like the captivating 'Alone on Top of Ahuna Mons' and the majestically optimistic 'Jovian Empyrean,' with its ever-rotating key signatures, revolve around piano and strings and feature electric bass guitar performing lyrical melodies. In fact, the bass is the featured lead instrument for much of the album including the proggy, upbeat 'Four String Theory,' in which all the tracks for the entire song (including the drum/percussion sounds) were created using bass guitar making it quite unique." — Bass Musician Magazine

Song Listing

1. Trans-Neptunian Dust 2. Superheavy Metals of Ceres 3. Alone on Top of Ahuna Mons 4. Four String Theory 5. Dance of Alien Auroras 6. Not Where, but When 7. Jovian Empyrean 8. The Anthropic Principle: i. Cosmic Anticipation, ii. Racing Against the Omega Point 9. Northern Skies over Empty Space


Brian Eaton

Additional Personnel

Brian Eaton - drums, percussion, bass, guitars, & keyboards; Bill Eaton - lead guitar on “Superheavy Metals of Ceres”; Produced & Engineered by Brian Eaton; Recorded, Mixed & Mastered by Brian Eaton at Eatin' Records, Portland, OR; All Music written & arranged by Brian Eaton and published by BSE Music (ASCAP)

Date featured

September 12, 2021

This song appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.


Shop Amazon

Song of the Day

Tiny Circles
Scott Kinsey, Mer Sal
Radio Ocean
Gabriel Judet-Weinshel
Adrianne Duncan


Un Poco Loco
Dave Bass
Yi Yunseon
A Lisbon Song
Max Agnas
Scarlet Lullaby
Alex Jenkins
Church Song
Michael Dalgas
For What It's Worth
Cathy Segal-Garcia
Fall Dog Bombs the Moon
Charles Rumback

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.