Home » Music » Song of the Day


Building You, Building Me by Saku Mantere

From the album

Album Title: Upon First Impression
Orchard of Pomegranates
Released: 2022
Duration: 00:50:32


Sign in to view listen count

About the Album

Upon First Impression is Finnish born, Montreal based vocalist Saku Mantere’s debut album. The music was composed and recorded in both Finland and Canada with a cast of some of the finest musicians from both countries. A masterful work about heartbreak and a life divided between two places, it’s an album that needed time for the fermentation process to mature. Through this difficult, split reality, Mantere surrounded himself with dedicated collaborators that held his vision and worked together as a tight-knit family to create a unified, inspired work. The path to making this album has been curvy, laced with unexpected turns and hidden side-roads. In a world that idolizes speed and immediate satisfaction, Mantere moves at his own pace with care and attention to detail. This album benefits greatly from repeated listening and a deep-dive into the lyrical and musical riches it holds. Mantere’s heart - perfectly imperfect - pulses through every note, every word and every sound on this album. He has managed to transform (as many great artists have done before him) a broken love into a work of art, carefully crafted, well thought-out, vibrating with authenticity and vulnerability. Upon First Impression was released worldwide on Friday, November 4th 2022.

Song Listing

1. And Death Shall Have No Dominion (Saku Mantere / Dylan Thomas) 05:50 2. Time (Tom Waits) 06:06 3. Wedding Poem (Saku Mantere / Norman Cristofoli) 03:36 4. Building You, Building Me (Saku Mantere) 04:05 5. Open Secrets (Geddy Lee, Alex Lifeson / Neil Peart) 06:57 6. Radio Silence (Saku Mantere) 05:07 7. I Think It’s Time to Say Goodbye Again (Stanley Cowell / Debby Randolph) 05:51 8. Countdown (John Coltrane / Saku Mantere) 04:41 9. The Professional (Saku Mantere) 03:47 10. Leap of Faith (Saku Mantere) 04:36


Saku Mantere
voice / vocals
Lex French
Jim Doxas
Jussi Lampela
composer / conductor
Jukka Eskola
Pope Puolitaival
saxophone, alto
Jussi Kannaste
Markus Holkko
saxophone, baritone
Ville Herrala
bass, acoustic
Ayelet Rose Gottlieb
voice / vocals
Jennifer Gasoi
voice / vocals

Additional Personnel

Jukka Eskola, Flugelhorn Pope Puolitaival, Flute

Date featured

December 18, 2022

This song appears by permission of the contributing artist and/or record company.
It is for personal use only; no other rights are granted or implied.


Song of the Day


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.