Home » Jazz News » Performance / Tour


SEVA Featuring Hristo Vitchev and Weber Iago "LIVE" at Piedmont Piano Co. (Oakland) on June 3rd


Sign in to view read count
SEVA is a modern jazz formation combining elements of classical, folk, rock, latin, and world music under the umbrella of the jazz sensibility and seeks to explore vibrant and distant harmonic landscapes with their modern and sophisticated sound. http://www.sevatheband.com/

SEVA was formed in late 2010 by Bulgarian modern jazz guitarist Hristo Vitchev and Brazilian piano sensation Weber Iago. Vitchev and Iago have a long musical ...relationship as band mates in the Hristo Vitchev Quartet and Quintet, the Vitchev / Iago Project, Joe DeRose and Amici as well as special guest appearances by Hristo with the Weber Iago quartet. All of their musical endeavors have received critical acclaim at the national and international jazz scenes.

However, with their brand new formation SEVA, the duo seeks to explore even more distant harmonic landscapes. The band combines jazz, impressionistic, classical, Latin, pop, and rock elements into a sound as diverse as the uniqueness of each one of its members. For this endeavor Vitchev and Iago are joined by virtuoso bassist Dan Robbins, and master drummer/percussionist Mike Shannon. The core foundation of SEVA can expand to a larger ensemble with the addition of voice, percussion, and horn instruments when the compositions require a more “world-music" treatment.

Piedmont Piano Co.
1728 San Pablo Avenue (at 18th Street)
Oakland, CA
For directions please visit Piedmont Piano Co. website

Admission: $15

SEVA is:
Hristo Vitchev—guitar
Dan Robbins—bass
Mike Shannon—drums

Visit Website | Purchase Tickets





Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.