Home » Jazz News » Recording


Darren Pickering Release - Small Worlds 'volume Two' On Rattle Records! From New Zealand


Sign in to view read count
Often atmospheric, his music also knows how to find, here and there, the codes of very well-executed mainstream jazz, without abandoning the discreet use of electronics.
—Yves Dorison, Culture Jazz
Darren Pickering
Following their acclaimed debut, VOLUME ONE, Darren Pickering Small Worlds continues their investigation of the intersection between cinematic aesthetics and electronic textures within the framework of contemporary jazz. Electronic textures are more prevalent on VOLUME TWO, a set that includes solo piano tracks that employ modular synths and resonators. VOLUME TWO represents a logical progression in Pickering’s artistic and compositional vision.

All compositions by Darren Pickering 2023 except “Bibo No Aozora" (Ryuichi Sakamoto, arr. D. Pickering) and “Chasing Pavements" (Adele & Eg White, arr. D. Pickering)

Produced by Darren Pickering Small Worlds
Recorded at Rapaki Studios, Christchurch (NZ)
Engineered and mixed by Alex Harmer
Mastered by Steve Garden
Cover art ‘In Pieces’ by Harry Harrison

Release Date: Nov. 23, 2023

About Darren Pickering

Darren Pickering is a jazz pianist/composer/educator, keyboard session musician, & a modular synthesist based in Christchurch NZ.

His current projects include Darren Pickering Small Worlds (cinematic jazz quartet) & various solo electronic ambient EPs.

Some of the notable musicians he has performed and toured with include; International Jazz Artists Gordon Brisker(USA), Dick De Graf (Holland), William Parker (USA), Raed Yassin (Lebanon), Bobby Shew (USA), Jamie Oehlers (AUS), Iain Ballamy (UK), Tom Warrington (USA). Nationally Renowned Recording Artists Julia Deans, LA Mitchell, Mark Vanilau, Whirimako Black, Dave Dobbyn, Anika Moa, Christchurch Symphony Orchestra, Anna Coddington.

Darren’s keyboard/piano playing & compositions/songwriting also feature on studio albums such as Shapeshifter Stars, Pacific Heights The Stillness, Julia Deans Modern Fables, Oakley Grenell The Deep, Cairo Knife Fight Iron, The Tiny Lies The Oaks They Will Blow, Departure Lounge In Session, Sacha Vee Sacha Vee, Rising One & Luminous, Oval Office Oval Office, Move and Don’t Stop, Glen Wagstaff Firefly, Sumo Jazz Shiko & Throwing Salt (finalist 2011 NZ Music Awards – best jazz album).

Praise Darren Pickering

“Pickering and company create atmospheric music of lustrous texture and sinuous melody... With every instrumental gesture guided by the writing and every choice geared towards maximizing its potential, their playing dramatically amplifies the evocativeness of the writing.”—Ron Schepper, Textura

“... composer/pianist Pickering whose work can have all the delicacy of ambient-adjacent piano music but also reach into something akin to more muscular jazz-rock when the tune demands it... classy.”—Graham Reid, Elsewhere

“There is a balladic sensibility to the ensemble's ambient jazz sound, enhanced by the subtle electronic textures of Darren's ever-expanding collection of modular systems, synths, selected iPad apps and sonic manipulation devices.” —Maggie Coco, Melodic Magazine

“...there's much to enjoy with this excellent set of compositions and these exquisite readings.”—Simon Sweetman, Sounds Good!

About Rattle Records

Established in 1991, Rattle champions a diverse range of contemporary art music unique to Aotearoa/New Zealand. We proudly support artists whose primary objective is to make music for themselves and the sake of their art, free from commercial and cultural restraints or limitations.

Our focus is instrumental music across a range of genres and styles that loosely traverse the languages and boundaries of jazz, chamber and orchestral music, world music, experimental works and sonic collage, and recordings by creatively adventurous singer-songwriters.

Rattle music is born of open-ended boundary-free creativity, new music for open ears.

Visit Website | Purchase

For more information contact .

Track Listing

Oneroa Bay; Reverse; Bibo No Aozora; Blue Mind; Interlude A; Chasing Pavements; TA2; Mazawati Tea; Intimate; Interlude B; La Perla (for Benjamin).


Album information

Title: Volume Two | Year Released: 2023 | Record Label: Rattle Records






Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and upcoming jazz events near you.