Mauricio Pessoa: Without You

Dan Bilawsky By

Sign in to view read count
Mauricio Pessoa: Without You
There's an urbane aura surrounding the music of Mauricio Pessoa. From the mournful string strains that introduce a dewy-eyed "Saudade I" on through to the high society swing of the "Without You" closer, his writing proves evocative both in drawing attention to times past and highlighting the influence of past masters—Moacir Santos, Antonio Carlos Jobim, Lindolpho Gaya, and Egberto Gismonti, to mention a few. However, it need be noted that, despite those backward glances and nods, his compositions aren't mired in the nostalgia they project. Pessoa plugs into a feeling of immediacy through these works, channeling his thoughts through an ensemble of twenty-plus which paints one stimulating and colorful canvas after another.

While it's true that there's not a lot of music here—the whole thing is over and done in twenty-three minutes—the details presented within make the album seem longer and make up for the truncated nature of the project. With "Quem é do Mar," for example, we have principled pizzicato work, sweeping tides, a brief shift to odd-time, and an upbeat send-off. And all of that in less than four minutes. Other numbers, while not as quick to shift character, rise above in terms of sound and sensation. Orchestrator Daniel Ott took all of the colors on his palette—a full spectrum of woodwinds, brass, strings, and percussion—and put them to excellent use, ultimately proving to be Without You's greatest asset.

All of these concise and emotive performances, including the bounding "Valsa" (co-written with Ott), speak directly to Pessoa's personality and passions, lending the listener a sense of what he's really all about. An air of cultivation, an appreciation for pure beauty, and a positively sentimental streak inform these attractive performances.

Track Listing

Saudade I; Quem é do Mar; Ana Luiza; Saudade II; Valso; Lullaby; Without You.


Paulo Guimaraes Ferreira: flute; Maria Fernando Goncalves: oboe, English horn; Marcio Costa: clarinet; Thiago Tavares: clarinet; Levi Chaves: saxophone; Andrey Cruz: saxophone; Eliezer Conrado: horn; Waleska Beltrami: horn; Altair Martins: trumpet; Nelson Olivieira: trumpet; Nilson Coelho: trumpet; Ricardo Santos: trombone; Raphael Campos da Paixao: trombone; Rodrigo Foti: timpani, percussion; Pedrinho Ferreira: percussion; Andre Tandeta: drums; Marco Antonio Correa Monteiro: harp; Ana Azevedo: piano; Nikolay Sapoundjiev: violin; William Isaac: violin; Samuel Passos: viola; Emilia Ivova Valova: cello; Lipe Portinho: bass.

Album information

Title: Without You | Year Released: 2018 | Record Label: Produzido No Polo Industrial De Manaus

Post a comment about this album


Shop Amazon


A Centering Peace
Brian Woodruff Sextet
Five Down Blues
Kyle Asche Organ trio
Long Tall Sunshine
Barry Altschul's 3Dom Factor
Wonderful World
Chris Standring
Tomas Liska & Invisible World


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.