Sinne Eeg: We've Just Begun

Nicholas F. Mondello By

Sign in to view read count
Sinne Eeg: We've Just Begun
Nelson Riddle said his arrangement protocol always brought into play the strengths, weaknesses and performance nuances of the singer. Pairing the vocalist with the arranged ensemble where duo becomes uno was his forte. And when a singer has the talent to mesh seamlessly into the arrangement both before and during the performance, those are the recordings that stand out from the pack. This one certainly does.

With We've Just Begun, Danish vocalist Sinne Eeg is not only accompanied and portrayed superbly, but her unique ability to leverage her vast skill set with the charts and the superb Danish Radio Big Band makes her performance and this recording a home run. This is a vocalist who swings, scats and nuances in accord with some very sophisticated and engaging writing. Her phrasings and embellishments are fluid and effortless. She's definitely done her homework on great jazz singers of the past.

Eeg covers ten selections superbly in three languages and works brilliantly in each. On the title track cooker, where she's backed by a deadly Peter Jensen chart, Eeg immediately displays swing skills. Her dramatic approach is shown on the stylishly somber "Those Ordinary Things" and a very melodramatic "Hvorfor Er Lykken Så Lundfuld." "Samba Em Comum" is anything but "common," as Eeg vocalizes in both Portuguese and English. She's dark, then joyously swinging on a varied tempoed "My Favorite Things." "Detour Ahead" seduces and "Comes Love" is an ass-shaker that channels"Jessica Rabbit" and Peggy Lee. The gospel-tinged "To a New Day" closes the session on an upbeat tone.

The varied arrangements and orchestrations from Peter Jensen, Jesper Riis and the late Roger Neumann are superb and interact brilliantly with Eeg. The soloists are A-1 and the Danish Radio Big Band swings a solid pocket throughout.

"Sine" in Latin translates as "without." Perhaps after hearing this fine effort, one could add "equal" after that.

Track Listing

We’ve Just Begun; Like a Song; Those Ordinary Things; Talking to Myself; Hvorfor er Lykken Sa Lunefuld; My Favorite Things; Samba em Comum; Detour Ahead; Comes Love; To a New Day.


Sinne Eeg: vocals, composer, arranger; Nikolai Bogelund: conductor; Dave Vreuls: trumpet; Bjarke Nikolasjsen: trumpet; Thomas Kjergaard: trumpet; Mads la Cour: trumpet; Gerard Presencer: trumpet; Lars Vissing: trumpet; Peter Fuglsang, Nicolai Schultz, Hans Ulrik, Anders Banke, Frederick Menzies, Anders Gaardmand, Jan Harbeck: saxes; Peter Dahlgren: trombone; Vincent Nilsson: trombone; Kevin Christensen: trombone; Annette Saxe: trombone; Jakob Munck: trombone; Henrik Gunde: piano; Per Gade: guitar; Kaspar Vadsholt: bass; Seren Frost: drums. Guest musicians – Rune Harder Olesen: percussion (3); Luis Conte: percussion (7); Sille Grenberg, Birgitte Soojin, Ninna Milner Juel, Maja Hanghoj, Alice Carreri: backing vocals (7).

Album information

Title: We've Just Begun | Year Released: 2020 | Record Label: BFM Jazz

Post a comment about this album


Shop Amazon


Westward Bound!
Harold Land
Jazz Mix 12
Kris T Reeder
Horizons Quartet
Horizons Quartet
Gui Duvignau
On Fire
Bévort 3
Joshua Jern Jazz Orchestra


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.