All About Jazz

Home » Articles » CD/LP/Track Review

Dear All About Jazz Readers,

If you're familiar with All About Jazz, you know that we've dedicated over two decades to supporting jazz as an art form, and more importantly, the creative musicians who make it. Our enduring commitment has made All About Jazz one of the most culturally important websites of its kind in the world reaching hundreds of thousands of readers every month. However, to expand our offerings and develop new means to foster jazz discovery we need your help.

You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky Google ads PLUS deliver exclusive content and provide access to future articles for a full year! This combination will not only improve your AAJ experience, it will allow us to continue to rigorously build on the great work we first started in 1995. Read on to view our project ideas...


: Welcome to the Club

Chris M. Slawecki By

Sign in to view read count
Rhett Frazier was born and raised in Texas and Oklahoma, by a family deeply steeped in every strain of America's soul music. And born and raised to vocally stomp through soul and funk. Grandpop played guitar and fiddle in a western swing band. Cousins Alan and Mike are bluegrass and country music mainstays, The Frazier Brothers. Uncle Mick Roemer is a jazz pianist and singer.

After fronting several incendiary blues bands that barnstormed through Texas and Oklahoma, Frazier traveled to Los Angeles to record his dream album—a soul record in the classic southern styles of Hi Records and/or Stax Records. But like so many music business dreams, Frazier's dream got shelved. It was never released.

Instead, the singer turned the page with two skeletal funk albums as Rhett Frazier, Inc.: 2010's Escape from Dee-Troyt (Digi-Soul}; and 2012's Every Day is Saturday (Double Inc.), which became mainstays in the LA electric soul scene.

But in 2017, Frazier made his own dream come true by releasing that dream album his damn self. Welcome to the Club proves that he was absolutely right to stay committed to that dream. Produced by Dusty Wakeman (mixmaster for country artists Lucinda Williams and Dwight Yoakum) and featuring Dick Sims (from Eric Clapton's band) on keyboards and soulful Hammond B-3, plus multi-horn player Lee Thornburg (Tower of Power), it captures all the disparate threads of Frazier's vision.

In this swirling soul cauldron, the Scottish edges on Frazier's voice take on the powerful spiritualism of Van Morrison, digging deep into Ray Charles soul, especially when Frazier vamps out the closing to the title track and "Holy Pimp," where he wails like Little Richard sitting on a red-hot poker.

"Always on the Outside" compacts rock and soul and rhythm and blues into three sparkling minutes, the kind of fifties soul that Peter Wolf so often and so lovingly resurrected in The J. Geils Band. "Stalemate" slowly but steadily cooks up Memphis blues bubbling with soulful organs, mournful guitars, and just enough backbeat to keep the music from standing still; it's a musical shame that Prince didn't live to cover this soulful blues in his inimitable purples.

But nothing surpasses Frazier's cover of the Jimmy Miller/Steve Winwood classic "I'm a Man," graced by the vocal presence of Mr. Spencer Davis in its backing chorus. You can tell from the pounding bass, cool as ice congas, and clawing guitar chords in its introduction that Frazier's going to use his voice as both scalpel and axe to tear this playhouse down. By the end of it, Frazier's stomping and snarling at the edges of his range like a shaman seeking possession. You simply cannot sing this song any better.

It's entirely possible that Welcome to the Club makes your own soul dreams come true, too.

Track Listing: Welcome to the Club; Holy Pimp; Tell; I’m a Man; Eat Your Heart Out; Stalemate; Funky Junky; Sonny Liston; Honest Wage; Always on the Outside; 3 Day Binge.

Personnel: Rhett Frazier: vocals; Dusty Wakeman: bass, backing vocals; Ted Hutt: lead guitar; Marcelo Cosenza: rhythm guitar; Pride Hutchison: drums; Dick Sims: keyboards, Hammond B-3, Fender Rhodes, Wurlitzer; Lee Thornburg: trumpet, trombone, flute; Dave “Woody” Woodford: saxophone; Juke Logan: harmonica; Donny Gerard: backing vocals; Chris Pierce: backing vocals; Sergio Pastora: percussion; Doug Pettibone: lead guitar, pedal steel; Gia Ciambotti: backing vocals; Spencer Davis: backing vocals; Roberta Freeman: backing vocals; Renee Goldberry: backing vocals; Denny Freeman: lead guitar.

Title: Welcome to the Club | Year Released: 2018 | Record Label: Self Produced


comments powered by Disqus

Related Articles

Read Uplift The People CD/LP/Track Review
Uplift The People
by John Sharpe
Published: August 21, 2018
Read A New Shade Of Blue CD/LP/Track Review
A New Shade Of Blue
by Chris May
Published: August 21, 2018
Read Rabbits on the Run CD/LP/Track Review
Rabbits on the Run
by Glenn Astarita
Published: August 21, 2018
Read Imaginary Numbers CD/LP/Track Review
Imaginary Numbers
by John Sharpe
Published: August 21, 2018
Read Point Blank CD/LP/Track Review
Point Blank
by Chris May
Published: August 20, 2018
Read Tell Me The Truth CD/LP/Track Review
Tell Me The Truth
by C. Michael Bailey
Published: August 20, 2018
Read "All Soundings Are True" CD/LP/Track Review All Soundings Are True
by Ian Patterson
Published: December 31, 2017
Read "Codex" CD/LP/Track Review Codex
by Doug Collette
Published: December 3, 2017
Read "Perfectly Unhappy" CD/LP/Track Review Perfectly Unhappy
by Gareth Thompson
Published: May 25, 2018
Read "Meridian" CD/LP/Track Review Meridian
by Hrayr Attarian
Published: August 8, 2018
Read "RFK Stadium 1989 Box" CD/LP/Track Review RFK Stadium 1989 Box
by Doug Collette
Published: December 3, 2017
Read "Port Of Call" CD/LP/Track Review Port Of Call
by John Sharpe
Published: August 23, 2017