Dear All About Jazz Readers,

If you're familiar with All About Jazz, you know that we've dedicated over two decades to supporting jazz as an art form, and more importantly, the creative musicians who make it. Our enduring commitment has made All About Jazz one of the most culturally important websites of its kind in the world reaching hundreds of thousands of readers every month. However, to expand our offerings and develop new means to foster jazz discovery we need your help.

You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky Google ads PLUS deliver exclusive content and provide access to future articles for a full year! This combination will not only improve your AAJ experience, it will allow us to continue to rigorously build on the great work we first started in 1995. Read on to view our project ideas...


Wandering Monster: Wandering Monster

Roger Farbey By

Sign in to view read count
Wandering Monster is the eponymously titled debut album for a quintet comprising five young musicians based in the Leeds area of England. The group came to fame after winning the 2016/17 Jazz North Introduces Award, and is led by bassist Sam Quintana who wrote all the album's compositions.

"Samsara" is driven-off by Quintana's resonant bass, Tom Higham's subtle drumming and Aleks Podraza's fluid piano line before the ensemble kicks-in with a labyrinthine theme. Plenty of space is afforded Ben Powling's tenor to solo energetically. "The Rush Begins" as its title suggests, is initially more urgently-paced but its gripping staccato interjections gradually give way to calmer waters and Podraza's piano embellishments. On "Sweetheart," guitarist Calvin Travers gets a chance to stretch out on a relaxed, perfectly measured solo. He is heard again on "Emöke" where his playing briefly channels the sedate opening section of Jimi Hendrix's "One Rainy Wish." The complex and insistent bass figure intro to "Tuco" yields to an engaging ensemble tune followed by a walking bass section over which Podraza solos first followed by a muscular tenor solo from Powling.

Concluding the set is the poignant "Happy Place" which benefits from a tranquil, melodious ensemble head. Quintana gets the opportunity to lay down a satisfyingly rich bass solo here, proving that composition isn't his only strong suit. For a debut album this is an excellent start, and whilst it might take listeners a couple of plays before completely "getting it," perseverance definitely pays dividends. All the musicians involved are equally gifted and this forty-minute foray augurs well for the future of this embryonic monster band.

Track Listing: Samsara; The Rush Begins; Sweetheart; Emöke; Tuco; Happy Place.

Personnel: Ben Powling: tenor saxophone; Calvin Travers: guitar; Aleks Podraza: piano, Rhodes and organ ; Sam Quintana: double bass; Tom Higham: drums.

Title: Wandering Monster | Year Released: 2019 | Record Label: Ubuntu Music



comments powered by Disqus

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Related Articles

Read Day to Day Album Reviews
Day to Day
By Paul Naser
May 24, 2019
Read Theia Album Reviews
By Jim Worsley
May 24, 2019
Read Ain't Nothing But a Cyber Coup & You Album Reviews
Ain't Nothing But a Cyber Coup & You
By Dan McClenaghan
May 24, 2019
Read Nexus Album Reviews
By Jakob Baekgaard
May 23, 2019
Read The Second Coming Album Reviews
The Second Coming
By Daniel Barbiero
May 23, 2019
Read Luminária Album Reviews
By John Sharpe
May 23, 2019