Tom Barford, Hugh Masakela and Count Basie

Bob Osborne By

Sign in to view read count

Click the play button to listen to this program.

The debut album from British saxophonist, composer and 2017 winner of the Kenny Wheeler Jazz Prize, Tom Barford, is the featured release on this show. Also featured is a great collection of early Hugh Masakela recordings, and some classic Count Basie cuts. In between jazz rock from Gong and a selection of brand new releases.


  • Tom Barford "Bloomer" from Bloomer (Edition Records) 00:00
  • Hugh Masakela "A Felicidade" from '66—'76 (Wrasse Records) 07:44
  • Bobo Stenson Trio "Three Shades Of A House " from Contra La Indecisión (ECM) 18:45
  • Claus Hojensgard, Emanuele Maniscalco, Nelide Bandello "Purple Magic" from høbama (Gotta Let It Out) 26:18
  • Cave "San Yago" from Allways (Drag City) 34:06
  • Dan Phillips, Hamid Drake "Imminent Recline" from Trail of Inevitability (Lizard Breath) 42:16
  • Gong "Expresso" from Gazeuse! (Virgin) 49:12
  • HHY & The Macumbas "Wilderness of Glass" from Beheaded Totem (House of Mythology) 56:45
  • Hugh Masakela "Gold" from '66—'76 (Wrasse Records) 1:06:47
  • Tom Barford "F Step" from Bloomer (Edition Records) 1:11:44
  • Count Basie "One O'Clock Jump" from Essential Masters of Jazz (Proper Records) 1:22:15
  • Count Basie "Jumpin' At The Woodside" from The Best of Early Basie (GRP) 1:25:14
  • Count Basie "House Rent Boogie" from The Indispensable Count Basie (RCA) 1:28:27
  • Nick Finzer "Pyramid" from No Arrival (Posi-tone) 1:31:47
  • Nicolas Masson Quartet "Fuchsia" from Travelers (ECM) 1:37:44
  • New Thing Unit "II" from For Cecil Taylor (Creative Sources) 1:45:17
  • Hugh Masakela "Night In Tunisia" from '66—'76 (Wrasse Records) 1:52:28
  • Tom Barford "Ideology" from Bloomer (Edition Records) 2:01:32


comments powered by Disqus

Shop for Music

Start your music shopping from All About Jazz and you'll support us in the process. Learn how.

Related Articles

Guitarist Lage Lund on how musicians communicate
Source The Third Story
June 15, 2019
Daniel Bennett Group is the Orchestra
Source Doing Jazz
June 14, 2019
Phineas Newborn Jr. and Oscar Dennard
Source Neon Jazz
June 13, 2019
BU@100, Newk with Monk & More
Source Gifts & Messages
June 13, 2019
New Releases and a focus on the RGG Trio
Source World of Jazz
June 13, 2019