Support All About Jazz

All About Jazz needs your help and we have a deal. Pay $20 and we'll hide those six pesky Google ads that appear on every page, plus this box and the slideout box on the right for a full year! You'll also fund website expansion.

I want to help

Ryan Haines: To The Sky

Jim Santella By

Sign in to view read count
Enlisting the services of fellow Air Force Band of the Rockies members, trombonist Ryan Haines has put together a big band session of note. Originally composed as "The Sky Blue Suite," Haines' program captures various aspects of a serviceman's career. There are dark days, frantic scrambles, lovely ballads, and high-flying horns. While the session connotes high energy and sparkling-clean, dress uniforms – the band still swings with veteran ears. Soloists Haines, Mark Israel, Bill Murray, Ed Hureau, Rich Inouye, Lucas Munce, Eric Gunnison and Bill Applegate provide highly charged flashes of passion. The desired feeling comes through, along with their immaculate instrumental precision. Vocal features on "I Will Wait for You" and "Do You Know What It Means to Miss New Orleans?" pale in comparison. The band rings out clearly with bell tones and pyramid-like entrances. From the bottom-most bass trombone to the highest of the saxophones and trumpets, Haines' big band lets it rip. "Like Thunder," which features Munce and Haines, changes meter and mood, as an aircraft would while completing its mission. Fit for heroes, the music celebrates both the awesome power and fighting spirit of servicemen everywhere. You can't miss the energy.

Haines has written an appropriate homage to the Air Force. His performance and that of his peers should make all servicemen proud.

Track Listing: To the Sky; Good-bye for Now; Do You Know What it Means to Miss New Orleans?; Like Lightning; Beach Assignment; I Will Wait for You; There's a Letter from Home; Like Thunder; The Reunion; Back to the "Blues".

Personnel: Ryan Haines- trombone; Mark Israel, Kevin Burns- flugelhorn, trumpet; Ed Hureau, Lucas Munce- alto saxophone; Bill Murray- tenor saxophone; Rich Inouye- baritone saxophone; Bill Applegate- electric guitar; Eric Gunnison- piano; Scott Webring- electric bass; George Thompson- drums; Henrique De Almeida- percussion; John Teamer, Sharon Haines- vocals.

| Record Label: Sea Breeze Jazz | Style: Straight-ahead/Mainstream


CD/LP/Track Review
Read more articles
People & Places
People & Places
Sea Breeze Jazz
New Horizons
New Horizons
Sea Breeze Jazz
[no cover]
To The Sky
Songlines Recordings
Bobby Shew Bobby Shew

Post a comment

comments powered by Disqus

New Service For Musicians!

Boost your visibility at All About Jazz and drive traffic to your website with Premium Musician Profile.