Jim Norton Collective: Time Remembered: Compositions of Bill Evans

Jack Bowers By

Sign in to view read count
Jim Norton Collective: Time Remembered: Compositions of Bill Evans
The late Bill Evans was so celebrated a pianist that even some partisans may overlook the fact that he was also a splendid composer with a number of oft-revisited jazz themes to his credit. Saxophonist / arranger Jim Norton hasn't forgotten, and has entrusted Time Remembered, his debut album as leader of the Jim Norton Collective, to music written and sometimes performed by Evans (with one exception, to be explained in due course).

These fourteen songs are described by Andrew Gilbert in his brief liner note as "overlooked treasures," which may account for the omission of Evans' best-known composition, "Waltz for Debby" (no other reason is given). What is encompassed is indeed gem-like, from the playful fugue "Fudgesickle Built for Four" (performed twice, in disparate versions) to the time-shifting, brass-infused "34 Skidoo" and everything in between. As implied, one of the songs—"Journey to Recife"—is an anomaly, as it wasn't written by Bill Evans but was attributed to him for years, having actually been composed by Richard L. Evans. As Norton's group had been playing it for more than three decades as a "Bill Evans tune," the decision was made to keep it in the album and give Richard Evans his overdue credit. Good choice.

Evans, who swung as hard as he had to, could also write pretty, as witness "Time Remembered," "Laurie" or "Comrade Conrad" (the last a jingle designed for a Crest toothpaste commercial). The flutes are especially engaging on "Conrad," while "Fudgesickle"s' reprise, opening at a far more deliberate tempo, bears scant resemblance to the album's sunny curtain-raiser until more than three minutes have elapsed, when merriment sets in. The twelve-member Collective experiences no problem with that, and in fact handles every challenge as to the manor born. Norton, for his part, inscribes charts that are consistently sharp and tasteful.

Norton solos on clarinet ("Walkin' Up") and baritone (the adventurous "Twelve Tone Tune") while bassist John Shiflett is featured on "Time Remembered," guitarist Scott Sorkin on "Bill's Hit Tune," tenor Charlie McCarthy on "Laurie." Others who unleash their weapons and cleave the target include alto / soprano Tim Devine, tenor / flutist Kris Storm, trombonists Joel Behrman and Jeff Cressman, trumpeters John Worley and Louis Fasman. Drummer Jason Lewis anchors the Collective's rock-solid rhythm section. This is music that should be heard more often, deftly performed by an ensemble with no discernible weaknesses. Well worth seeking out.

Track Listing

Fudgesickle Built for Four; Time Remembered; Journey to Recife; Five; NYC’s No Lark; Interplay; Walkin’ Up; Very Early; Bill’s Hit Tune; Peri’s Scope; Twelve Tone Tune; Laurie; Comrade Conrad; Fudgesickle Built for Four (Reprise); 34 Skidoo.


Jim Norton: leader, baritone sax, bass flute, clarinet, contra-alto clarinet, bassoon; Louis Fasman: trumpet, flugelhorn; John Worley Jr.: trumpet, flugelhorn; Tim Devine: alto, soprano sax, piccolo, flute; Kristen Strom: tenor sax, flute, alto flute; Charlie McCarthy: tenor sax, flute, clarinet, bass clarinet; Cathleen Torres: French horn; Joel Behrman: trombone; Jeff Cressman: trombone, bass trombone; Scott Sorkin: guitar; John Shifflett: bass; Jason Lewis: drums.

Album information

Title: Time Remembered: Compositions of Bill Evans | Year Released: 2014 | Record Label: Origin Records

Post a comment about this album



Shop Amazon


Live At No Black Tie
Jeremy Monteiro, Jay Anderson, Lewis Nash
King of Dowling Street
Lightnin' Hopkins
Mariposas Cantan
Joe Rizo's Mongorama


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.