Kyle Eastwood: Time Pieces

Edward Blanco By

Sign in to view read count
Kyle Eastwood: Time Pieces Double bassist, composer and producer Kyle Eastwood unveils a timeless treasure with his seventh album as leader on the sensational Time Pieces, capturing the mood and aura of the 50s and 60s jazz scene blending two standards from the era with rich new compositions incorporating the sensitivities and flavor of that time period. It has been seventeen years since his debut album and along the way, Eastwood also enjoys working on film music where he has composed and arranged scores for his famous father Clint Eastwood's Oscar nominated films "Mystic River," "Million Dollar Baby," and "Letters from Iwo Jima," which is reprised here with a scaled down version arranged for piano and bass.

On this album, Eastwood—who performs here on the electric, acoustic and fretless bass—returns to his jazz roots and influences as he includes music from some of his favorite jazz musicians notably, Horace Silver and Herbie Hancock and admits that much of the originals on this recording, are infused with elements of such influences. The bassist ventures into the modern jazz territory on a ten-piece repertoire where, with the exception of the light melancholy original "Vista,' the brief duet with pianist Andrew McCormack on "Letters from Iwo Jima," and the humbling "Nostalgique," he leads a working quintet of young English musicians in documenting a vibrant session of powerful swinging sounds.

The clock starts ticking on the imaginative and funky original "Caipirinha" featuring the leader on the electric bass, the trumpet voice of Quentin Collins and sharp solos from saxophonist Brandon Allen as the band opens in impressive style. The Silver standard "Blowin' the Blues Away" is s burner of a tune capturing more hard-driving grooves from both the trumpeter and saxophonist but this time, also brings pianist McCormack and Eastwood to the fore with a terrific solo moments supported by strong stick work by drummer Ernesto Simpson.

Eastwood introduces the mid-tempo Hancock tune "Dolphin Dance" arranged with a light texture to it also features horn man Collins on a graceful flugelhorn dance that marks the piece which is followed by the perky grooves of the Eastwood/McCormack original "Prosecco Smile." Dedicated to the late Horace Silver—who passed away during the recording of the project—"Peace of Silver" is another powerful number featuring pronounced solos from Collins on the horn, while the sensual "Incantation," as the press sheet states "finds a direct heart line to the lyricism of Wayne Shorter."

Closing out the set as it began, Eastwood and band perform another high-octane number with the energetic and electrifying "Bullet Train" featuring torrid solos from Allen on the soprano, Collins on the trumpet, a piano foray from McCormack, splashing cymbal accents by Simpson and firm steady lines by the leader on the acoustic bass—all making for one dramatic clock-stopping exit. There's no question about this one, Kyle Eastwood's outstanding Time Pieces succeeds in delivering a measure of swing, swagger and grace in a musical package that's perfect for any time.

Track Listing: Caipirinha; Blowin'the Blues Away; Dolphin Dance; Prosecco Smile; Vista; Peace of Silver; Incantation; Letter from Iwo Jima; Nostalgique; Bullet Train.

Personnel: Kyle Eastwood: electric bass, acoustic bass, fretless electric bass; Brandon Allen: tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone; Quentin Collins; Andrew McCormack: piano; Ernesto Simpson: drums.

Title: Time Pieces | Year Released: 2015 | Record Label: Harmonia Mundi Jazz Village Music


comments powered by Disqus

More Articles

Read Developing Story CD/LP/Track Review Developing Story
by Edward Blanco
Published: June 26, 2017
Read Lantern CD/LP/Track Review Lantern
by John Kelman
Published: June 26, 2017
Read Inspirations (featuring Matthew Halsall) CD/LP/Track Review Inspirations (featuring Matthew Halsall)
by Phil Barnes
Published: June 26, 2017
Read Unification CD/LP/Track Review Unification
by Troy Dostert
Published: June 26, 2017
Read Crossing CD/LP/Track Review Crossing
by Geno Thackara
Published: June 25, 2017
Read Unit[e] CD/LP/Track Review Unit[e]
by Karl Ackermann
Published: June 25, 2017
Read "Open Air" CD/LP/Track Review Open Air
by John Kelman
Published: June 2, 2017
Read "Live in Concert" CD/LP/Track Review Live in Concert
by David Becker
Published: January 30, 2017
Read "Manovuotometro" CD/LP/Track Review Manovuotometro
by Mark Sullivan
Published: November 24, 2016
Read "Beauty & Truth" CD/LP/Track Review Beauty & Truth
by Karl Ackermann
Published: March 13, 2017
Read "Sopranoville: New Works for the Prepared and Non-Prepared Saxophone" CD/LP/Track Review Sopranoville: New Works for the Prepared and Non-Prepared...
by Karl Ackermann
Published: April 13, 2017
Read "The Final Concert" CD/LP/Track Review The Final Concert
by John Sharpe
Published: February 19, 2017

Join the staff. Writers Wanted!

Develop a column, write album reviews, cover live shows, or conduct interviews.