The Source: The Source

Budd Kopman By

Sign in to view read count
The Source: The Source The music that makes up this most delightful and peculiar album is both paradoxical and enigmatic. Everything seems to fit together and make sense, and yet the musical world thus created is unfamiliar. While it has density and gravity, the music feels like it's almost not there. After experiencing the album, you might ask yourself what just happened. What is it about this music that kept my total attention and yet slipped right through my fingers?

The Source is the second release by this group, after The Source and Different Cikadas (ECM, 2000) by the core trio of Trygve Seim (tenor and soprano saxophone), Oyvind Braekke (trombone) and Per Oddvar Johansen (drums); Mats Eilertsen (bass) joined just before this recording was made. The original trio members met in school back in 1993, embracing eclecticism from the beginning.

The fact that there is no chordal instrument in the group at least partially explains the music's lightness and fragility: it dances and actually swings, but in the most unorthodox way. However, there is more to the story. Braekke and Seim are ideal partners who share an uncanny ability to play lick-free lines that have forward motion and logic, but seem to be ready to go in any direction at any time. Their well-honed rhythmic sense implies a pulse without ever quite being so crude as to actually land on it.

Braekke's tone on trombone is extremely clear and bell-like, and his technique is so assured that it's sometimes easy to forget what instrument he's playing. Seim has cultivated a dry, slightly reedy tone, so that when they play together or against each other, they produce a distinctive new sound. Just as important are the contributions by Johansen and Eilertsen, who manage to maintain a delicate balance between supporting and leading.

The album roughly falls into two halves, the second made up entirely of Braekke compositions. The disc starts with the humorous "Caballero" and "Un Fingo Andalou," before slowly getting increasingly diaphanous through the free ballad of Edward Vesala's "Libanera" and the beautiful, memorable melody of "Prelude To A Boy." Johansen's "Tamboura Rasa" and "Mmball" seem to be made of nothing at all—they're at the center of a web that binds us, but we cannot see.

"Oesterled," which begins a set of seven tunes by Braekke, is the fulcrum between the densely ethereal and the translucently concrete. "Life So Far" and "Tribute" actually have a cool groove, but Seim and Braekke always play against, rather than into it. After so much serious humor, "Surrender Triptych," with its stately theme, closes the loop on the band's connection to Vesala.

In a year that thus far has brought many high points from ECM, The Source is yet another seductive release.

Visit Trygve Seim, Mats Eilertsen and Per Oddvar Johansen on the web.

Track Listing: Caballero; Un Fingo Andalou; Libanera; Prelude To A Boy; Tamboura Rasa; Mmball; Osterled; Life So Far; Tribute; Mail Me Or Leave Me; Alle Bla De Er; Water Glass Rhapsody; A Surrender Triptych.

Personnel: Trygve Seim: tenor and soprano saxophones; yvind Brkke: trombone; Mats Eilertsen: double bass; Per Oddvar Johansen: drums.

Year Released: 2006 | Record Label: ECM Records | Style: Modern Jazz


More Articles

Read Acceptance CD/LP/Track Review Acceptance
by Tyran Grillo
Published: February 26, 2017
Read The Wild CD/LP/Track Review The Wild
by Dan McClenaghan
Published: February 26, 2017
Read This Is Nate Najar CD/LP/Track Review This Is Nate Najar
by Edward Blanco
Published: February 26, 2017
Read Joy Comes Back CD/LP/Track Review Joy Comes Back
by James Nadal
Published: February 26, 2017
Read Apocalypse CD/LP/Track Review Apocalypse
by Julian Derry
Published: February 26, 2017
Read The Sound of Surprise: Live at the Side Door CD/LP/Track Review The Sound of Surprise: Live at the Side Door
by Edward Blanco
Published: February 25, 2017
Read "The Happiest Man In The World" CD/LP/Track Review The Happiest Man In The World
by Chris Mosey
Published: July 28, 2016
Read "Early Wayne: Explorations of Classic Wayne Shorter Compositions" CD/LP/Track Review Early Wayne: Explorations of Classic Wayne Shorter Compositions
by Budd Kopman
Published: August 26, 2016
Read "Solstice" CD/LP/Track Review Solstice
by Dan Bilawsky
Published: October 30, 2016
Read "The Music of Enrico Pieranunzi" CD/LP/Track Review The Music of Enrico Pieranunzi
by Jack Bowers
Published: March 23, 2016
Read "Romance 76" CD/LP/Track Review Romance 76
by Glenn Astarita
Published: October 11, 2016
Read "And Now the Queen - A Tribute to Carla Bley" CD/LP/Track Review And Now the Queen - A Tribute to Carla Bley
by Karl Ackermann
Published: November 30, 2016

Post a comment

comments powered by Disqus

Sponsor: Jazz Near You | GET IT  

Support our sponsor

Support All About Jazz's Future

We need your help and we have a deal. Contribute $20 and we'll hide the six Google ads that appear on every page for a full year!

Buy it!