John McLaughlin/ Mahavishnu Orchestra: The Inner Mounting Flame - Birds Of Fire


Sign in to view read count
This is a review of the similarities of The Inner Mounting Flame and Birds Of Fire, both performed by the Mahavishnu Orchestra, led by John McLaughlin, the guitarist and composer. The Inner Mounting Flame, originally released in 1971, and re-issued as a remaster in 1999, is the better of the two albums. Birds Of Fire, originally released in 1973, and re-issued as a remaster in 2000, continues some of The Inner Mounting Flame 's themes. The first track of each album is generally considered the 'best' of each disc; and the track "Birds of Fire" is a re-make of the song on The Inner Mounting Flame titled "Meeting Of The Spirits". Both tracks share a not-dissimilar bass-violin ostinato, and swirling background chords. The guitar-violin duet on each are also not all that different. Still the tracks are different enough from each other to make each worthwhile.

The second tracks on each disc ("Dawn" on TIMF; and "Miles Beyond" on BOF, are probably the most accessible tracks on each- though they are very different from each other. The later album is a more Rock-oriented disc and "Miles Beyond" is a Rock number. "Dawn" is more of a jazz track, built around McLaughlin's nimble lead guitar. The third traclks on each album ("The Noonward Race" on TIMF; and "Celestial Terrestrial Commuters" on BOF) were probably the most difficult to play. Excluding a 21 second synthesizer piece, the fourth numbers on each album ("A Lotus On Irish Streams" [TIMF] and "Thousand Island Park" [BOF]) are the 'classical' tracks on each recording.

The fifth numbers of each disc ("Vital Transformation" [TIMF] and "One Word" [BOF]) are the performance showpieces of each album. There the similarities end.

Track Listing:

The Inner Mounting Flame: "Meeting of The Spirits"; "Dawn; "The Noonward Race"; "A Lotus On Irish Streams"; "Vital transformation"; "The Dance of Maya", "You Know You Know"; "Awakening".

Birds Of Fire: "Birds Of Fire"; "Miles Beyond"; "Celestial Terrestrial Commuters"; "Sapphire Bullets Of Pure Love"; "Thousand Island Park"; "One Word'; "sanctuary"; "Open Country Joy"; "Resolution".

Personnel: John McLaughlin (guitars); Jan Hammer (keyboards); Billy Cobham (drums); Jerry Goodman (violin); Rick Laird (bass)

| Record Label: Sony-Legacy Music | Style: Straight-ahead/Mainstream


More Articles

Read June CD/LP/Track Review June
by Karl Ackermann
Published: February 19, 2017
Read The Final Concert CD/LP/Track Review The Final Concert
by John Sharpe
Published: February 19, 2017
Read Desire & Freedom CD/LP/Track Review Desire & Freedom
by Glenn Astarita
Published: February 19, 2017
Read On Hollywood Boulevard CD/LP/Track Review On Hollywood Boulevard
by Budd Kopman
Published: February 19, 2017
Read The Motorman's Son CD/LP/Track Review The Motorman's Son
by Dan Bilawsky
Published: February 18, 2017
Read "Live At Okuden" CD/LP/Track Review Live At Okuden
by Mark Corroto
Published: August 13, 2016
Read "Do Right" CD/LP/Track Review Do Right
by Dan Bilawsky
Published: March 28, 2016
Read "Espiritu Zombi" CD/LP/Track Review Espiritu Zombi
by Mark Corroto
Published: August 22, 2016
Read "Cantos Invisíveis" CD/LP/Track Review Cantos Invisíveis
by Karl Ackermann
Published: January 13, 2017
Read "Occasional Poems" CD/LP/Track Review Occasional Poems
by John Sharpe
Published: April 4, 2016
Read "Les Indignés" CD/LP/Track Review Les Indignés
by Karl Ackermann
Published: May 3, 2016

Post a comment

comments powered by Disqus

Sponsor: ECM Records | BUY NOW  

Support our sponsor

Support All About Jazz's Future

We need your help and we have a deal. Contribute $20 and we'll hide the six Google ads that appear on every page for a full year!

Buy it!