The Inbetweens: The Inbetweens

Mark F. Turner By

Sign in to view read count
The Inbetweens: The Inbetweens The trio simply called the Inbetweens delivers jazz-fusion of another color on this debut recording. Based in the northeast New York area, these musicians build a collage of styles from hard rock, free jazz, and various influences. Leader Mike Gamble is one the new breed of young guitarists who has the knowledge and skill to play in various techniques of jazz, rock, and other modes. His recent contribution on new jazz artist Pete Robbin’s Centric displayed proficient skill and memorable solos. While jazz is a definite influence, the Inbetweens have a musical alter ego all their own.

The musicians play with finesse as well as intensity. Gamble’s guitar wizardry is impressive with a style that brings to mind musicians from John Abercrombie to Dave Fiuczynski in terms of composition and freedom. A nice contrast of the trio compared to most fusion groups is the use of acoustic bass by Noah Jarrett. His jazz chops combined with a full sound, gives the music deepness and character while drummer Conor Elmes’ percussion work adds an array of sounds from his kit which creates depth to the trio’s sound.

Various styles on the recording give a glimpse into the trio’s musical mindset. The first selection, “Tension,” combines earthy tones with free expression. On “Yearsnew” the style is a mellow groove with each musician performing a delicate dance of timbres and tempos. “What If?” begins with a western motif that morphs into acid-rock guitar work by Gamble in the vein of Hendrix. For punk rockers young and old alike there’s “Lettuce Bread,” with its funky attitude mixed with outlandish vocals and guttural sounds. Things cool down nicely on “Indecision,” which features a dream-like tempo and some liquid guitar work by Gamble. The recording ends with “Inception” with strong percussion against a hypno-rock background. The Inbetween’s music could be classified as “jazz crossover fusion for the new millennium,” but what really matters is that the music is free and interesting, with the potential to appeal to a variety of music fans.

Visit the Inbetweens on the web.

Track Listing: 1. Tension 2. Yearsnew 3. What If? 4.Lettuce Bread 5. Indecision 6. Inception

Personnel: Michael Gamble - guitars; Noah Jarret - electric and acoustic bass; Conor Elmes - drums and percussion

Title: The Inbetweens | Year Released: 2003 | Record Label: Independent Records


comments powered by Disqus

More Articles

Read Birdhoused CD/LP/Track Review Birdhoused
by Dan McClenaghan
Published: July 22, 2017
Read Vol. 1 CD/LP/Track Review Vol. 1
by Troy Dostert
Published: July 22, 2017
Read Meeting My Shadow CD/LP/Track Review Meeting My Shadow
by James Nadal
Published: July 22, 2017
Read No Secrets No Lies CD/LP/Track Review No Secrets No Lies
by Geannine Reid
Published: July 22, 2017
Read 50 CD/LP/Track Review 50
by Doug Collette
Published: July 22, 2017
Read Day After Day CD/LP/Track Review Day After Day
by John Eyles
Published: July 21, 2017
Read "On A Monday Evening" CD/LP/Track Review On A Monday Evening
by Dan McClenaghan
Published: April 22, 2017
Read "An Eclipse Of Images" CD/LP/Track Review An Eclipse Of Images
by Mark Corroto
Published: September 1, 2016
Read "The Roc" CD/LP/Track Review The Roc
by Roger Farbey
Published: January 28, 2017
Read "Taking Direction" CD/LP/Track Review Taking Direction
by Marithe Van der Aa
Published: April 4, 2017
Read "Matador 4" CD/LP/Track Review Matador 4
by Hrayr Attarian
Published: December 31, 2016
Read "Think Ahead" CD/LP/Track Review Think Ahead
by Geannine Reid
Published: June 2, 2017

Support All About Jazz: MAKE A PURCHASE  

Support our sponsor

Upgrade Today!

Musician? Boost your visibility at All About Jazz and drive traffic to your website with our Premium Profile service.