Skydive Trio: Sun Sparkle

Karl Ackermann By

Sign in to view read count
Skydive Trio: Sun Sparkle
Norwegian guitarist Thomas Dahl's primary project is the Skydive Trio with bassist Mats Eilertsen and drummer Olavi Louhivuouri. The trio is an off-shoot of a quintet of the same name that includes tenor saxophonist Tore Brunborg and pianist Alexi Tuomarila. Sun Sparkle is the second release from the smaller group whose sound, like the album title, reflects ideas from both familiar and eclectic musical worlds.

Dahl has collected a number of honors in his native land, including Norway's Spellemannprisen, (a version of the Grammy Award) for the album Low (BP, 1999) with one of his two additional jazz groups, KRØYT. The most recent of Eilertsen's four solo releases was his 2016 Rubicon on the ECM label where he has also worked with Jacob Young and Tord Gustavsen. Among others, the Norwegian multi-instrumentalist has recorded with Nils Økland, Food, with Iain Ballamy, and Yelena Eckemoff. Finland's Louhivuouri has released seven albums as a leader, four with his group Oddarrang and one with his namesake trio. He has also played with the UMO Jazz Orchestra, Tomasz Stanko, Anthony Braxton, Jon Balke, Marilyn Crispell, among others.

At the heart of Skydive Trio is Dahl's exceptional and wide-ranging guitar playing, often bringing Bill Frisell to mind, but varying as much as the music itself. There is the idyllic beauty of "Convoy," "Spruce" and the title track, the former drawing logical comparisons to early Pat Metheny. While the opening "Launch" is a jazz-rock hybrid, the slow-building "Descending" and "Ascending" are more overtly driving rock pieces. Harder to categorize are "Apollo," "Surface Stride" and "Engine Rest," the latter two heavy with spacey atmosphere.

There is nothing ground-breaking on Sun Sparkle but there needn't be given the exceptionally high quality of the musicianship and the diverse selection of original music. The Skydive Trio is a solid group, capable of generating hard-charging drive and airy harmonies in equal parts. Louhivuori is the conduit in keeping the overall program cohesive and Eilertsen proves to be as fluid a player as Dahl as he moves seamlessly between the bowed, plucked and electric basses. Sun Sparkle, like the preceding Sun Moee (Hubro, 2015), is good listening from beginning to end.

Track Listing

Launch; Convoy; Apollo; Engine Rest; Descending; Surface Stride; Spruce; Ascending; Sun Sparkle; Wish I Was Who? (Camera Off).


Thomas T Dahl: guitar; Mats Eilertsen: upright and electric bass; Olavi Louhivuouri: drums.

Album information

Title: Sun Sparkle | Year Released: 2018 | Record Label: Hubro Music

Post a comment about this album


Shop Amazon


Read Human Dust Suite
Human Dust Suite
Miki Yamanaka
Read You're It!
You're It!
The Mike Melito/Dino Losito Quartet
Read TEST and Roy Campbell
TEST and Roy Campbell
TEST and Roy Campbell
Read 4K
Read Signals
Trio Linguae
Read History Gets Ahead of the Story
History Gets Ahead of the Story
Jeff Cosgrove / John Medeski / Jeff Lederer
Read Prism
Conference Call

All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, shelter in place and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary effort that will help musicians now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the bottom right video ad). Thank you.

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.