All About Jazz

Home » Articles » CD/LP/Track Review

Dear All About Jazz Readers,

If you're familiar with All About Jazz, you know that we've dedicated over two decades to supporting jazz as an art form, and more importantly, the creative musicians who make it. Our enduring commitment has made All About Jazz one of the most culturally important websites of its kind in the world reaching hundreds of thousands of readers every month. However, to expand our offerings and develop new means to foster jazz discovery we need your help.

You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky Google ads PLUS deliver exclusive content and provide access to future articles for a full year! This combination will not only improve your AAJ experience, it will allow us to continue to rigorously build on the great work we first started in 1995. Read on to view our project ideas...


University of Kentucky Mega-Sax Ensembles: Stinkin' 3.0

Jack Bowers By

Sign in to view read count
If you dig the sound of a saxophone (alto, tenor and / or baritone), you've come to the right place. Unless we've miscounted, no less than nineteen saxophonists are present and accounted for on Stinkin' 3.0, which, it stands to reason, is the third CD recorded by the University of Kentucky's (well-named) Mega-Sax Ensembles. That includes guest artists Jeff Coffin, Tony DaGradi and Jeff Driskill but does not include director Miles Osland, a pretty fair saxophonist himself who limits his duties to co-directing with Ian Cruz (who does play alto and soprano sax) and conducting. Of course, not all of the saxophonists play on every number as that would be overkill (insert smiley face here). Details about who appears where and when are provided in the sleevenotes.

The album was recorded at half a dozen sessions spanning the years 2015-17. Coffin weighs in on the first two tracks, Driskill in the middle, Dagradi at the end. Coffin wrote "The Mad Hatter Rides Again" and "Low Spark," Driskill "A Change in the Gospel," "Blues and the Bent Side Key" and "Straight Jacket," Dagradi "Sohana Sha Kirpal" and "Sweet Faced Lie," which ring down the curtain. Coffin and Dagradi solo on their compositions, Driskill only on "Straight Jacket." The rest of the program consists of three well-drawn originals by Mike Mower, Arthur Hamilton's "Cry Me a River" and Billy Strayhorn's "Lush Life," both smartly arranged by Billy Kerr. The first ten numbers were recorded in a studio, the last three in concert. There is a "rhythm section" of sorts (drummer Nick Bolcholz, percussionist Michael McSweeney) but only on tracks 1, 2, 12 and 13. Otherwise it's all saxophones all the time.

As a matter of fact, the absence of a rhythm section on most selections ties in with the album's rather unusual name, occasioned by a remark on one of the judges' sheets after the ensemble was given the highest marks at the 1995 Elmhurst College (IL) Jazz Festival: "You guys don't need no stinkin' rhythm section!" The ensemble's first CD was thus titled We Don't Need No Stinkin' Rhythm Section, the second Stinkin' Up the Place. Given that pedigree, Stinkin' 3.0 seemed a logical choice for the third. Depending on one's proclivity for the saxophone, it may indeed live up to its name—or not.

Truth is, it does take a certain flair (abnormality?) to write for an unaccompanied saxophone section, and to their credit, the composers / arrangers here do so splendidly. Mower, a new name in these precincts, acquits himself quite well on "Ford Fiasco," "Kentucky Roastup" and "Yuppieville Rodeo," showing great wit and imagination while inserting snippets from other well-known compositions, classical and popular. Even so, there are times when some listeners may long for the welcome sound of piano, bass or guitar. Good as the saxophones may be, they can do no more than sound like saxophones. That may be enough for some, not enough for others. As noted, the depth of pleasure rests largely on one's fondness for the saxophone. Osland, Cruz and the ensembles have certainly done their part; the charts are bright and resourceful, the musicianship top-drawer. The response is up to the listener.

Track Listing: The Mad Hatter Rides Again; Low Spark; Tall and Lanky; Cry Me a River; Ford Fiasco; Lush Life; Kentucky Roastup; A Change in the Gospel; Yippieville Rodeo; Blues and the Bent Side Key; Straight Jacket; Sohana Sha Kirpal; Sweet Faced Lie.

Personnel: (Collective) -- Miles Osland: co-director; Ian Cruz: co-director, arranger, alto, soprano sax; Derek Wilson: alto sax; Michael Robinson: alto, tenor sax; Colleen Wagoner: alto, tenor sax; Jonathan Barrett: tenor sax, flute; Kirby Davis: alto, tenor sax; Trevor Bowling: tenor, baritone sax; Jared Sells: baritone sax; Austin Pence: baritone sax; Mitchell Tinnell: alto sax; Angie Ortega: alto sax; Kirby Davis: tenor sax; Zach Buskill: tenor sax; Carlos Espinoza Jr: tenor sax; Jacob Slone: tenor sax; Philip Sohn: tenor sax; Nick Bolcholz: drums; Michael McSweeney: percussion. Special guests – Jeff Coffin: alto, tenor sax, composer; Jeff Driskill: alto sax, composer, arranger; Tony Dagradi: tenor sax, composer, arranger.

Title: Stinkin' 3.0 | Year Released: 2017 | Record Label: Self Produced


comments powered by Disqus



Miles Osland

CD/LP/Track Review
Download Reviews
CD/LP/Track Review
Read more articles
On the Road

On the Road

Mark Records

Stinkin' 3.0

Stinkin' 3.0

Self Produced



Sea Breeze Jazz


My Old Kentucky Home

Sea Breeze Jazz


Related Articles

Read Brothers CD/LP/Track Review
by Dan Bilawsky
Published: September 24, 2018
Read The Fearless Flyers CD/LP/Track Review
The Fearless Flyers
by John Bricker
Published: September 24, 2018
Read Super Mood CD/LP/Track Review
Super Mood
by Glenn Astarita
Published: September 24, 2018
Read Beheaded Totem CD/LP/Track Review
Beheaded Totem
by James Fleming
Published: September 24, 2018
Read New Hope CD/LP/Track Review
New Hope
by Jack Bowers
Published: September 23, 2018
Read The Nobuki Takamen Trio CD/LP/Track Review
The Nobuki Takamen Trio
by Mark Sullivan
Published: September 23, 2018
Read "California Boogie" CD/LP/Track Review California Boogie
by Jim Olin
Published: July 9, 2018
Read "ON Tour" CD/LP/Track Review ON Tour
by John Kelman
Published: October 22, 2017
Read "Pass If Music" CD/LP/Track Review Pass If Music
by Mark Sullivan
Published: June 26, 2018
Read "Heritage" CD/LP/Track Review Heritage
by Jerome Wilson
Published: April 3, 2018
Read "144 Strings For A Broken Chord" CD/LP/Track Review 144 Strings For A Broken Chord
by Ian Patterson
Published: August 24, 2018
Read "Cycle" CD/LP/Track Review Cycle
by Ian Patterson
Published: June 17, 2018