Eric Alexander: Song of No Regrets

Jack Bowers By

Sign in to view read count
Eric Alexander: Song of No Regrets
Eric Alexander, who has been wielding as impressive a tenor saxophone as anyone on the scene for more than two decades, returns to the studio for what seems the umpteenth time with an abundant stockpile of point-blank pleasures on Song of No Regrets, an essentially Latin-grooved session that leaves room on the first two numbers for the superlative trumpet work of guest artist Jon Faddis.

One of Alexander's strengths, and perhaps the one that has caused him to be so consistently underrated when the talk turns to contemporary tenor masters, is that he makes everything seem so implausibly easy. The technique and fluency are such that there's literally nothing Alexander can't do on his horn. Ballads? No one plays them with more warmth and understanding. Barn-burners? No tempo is too rapid to outpace his dexterous fingers. As for solos, Alexander's are models of perception and tastefulness. Oh, and he also composes ("Grinder," "Corazon Perdido," "Boom Zoom"), arranges and even plays organ on Stevie Wonder's "These Three Words."

Even with Faddis lending a Diz-inspired hand (open on pianist David Hazeltine's "But Here's the Thing," muted and open on "Three Words"), Alexander leaves no doubt who's in charge, soloing with his customary power, perception and panache while "backing" himself with some emphatic organ phrases on "Three Words." Buoyant Latin rhythms are predominant on "Grinder," "Mas Que Nada" and "Boom Zoom," a framework that is enriched by the splendid talents of percussionist Alex Diaz. Sergio Mendes' "Song of No Regrets," a soulful ballad, shows Alexander's tender side, then it's back to swinging as usual on drummer Joe Farnsworth's shuffling "Cede's Shack" and Jimmy Webb's classic "Up, Up and Away," introduced by the Fifth Dimension in 1967 (and never sounding better, even without Marilyn McCoo on board).

As always, Alexander is afforded a wide comfort zone by his longtime colleagues and friends Hazeltine, Farnsworth and bassist John Webber, and as always, he makes the most of it. In the perennial sweepstakes among straight-ahead small-group sessions, Song of No Regrets is a clear and decisive prize winner.

Track Listing

But Here’s the Thing; These Three Words; Grinder; Mas Que Nada; Boom Zoom; Song of No Regrets; Cede’s Shack; Up, Up and Away.


Eric Alexander: tenor saxophone, organ (2); Jon Faddis: trumpet (1, 2); David Hazeltine: piano; John Webber: bass; Joe Farnsworth: drums; Alex Diaz: conga, bongos, auxiliary percussion.

Album information

Title: Song of No Regrets | Year Released: 2017 | Record Label: HighNote Records

Post a comment about this album


Shop Amazon


Live in Hawaii
Doug MacDonald
Lost in a Dream
Kristin Callahan
The Painter
Tobias Meinhart
Monaco, Meurkens, Hoyson, Lucas
J. Peter Schwalm / Markus Reuter
Cool With That
East Axis


All About Jazz needs your support

All About Jazz & Jazz Near You were built to promote jazz music: both recorded albums and live events. We rely primarily on venues, festivals and musicians to promote their events through our platform. With club closures, limited reopenings and an uncertain future, we've pivoted our platform to collect, promote and broadcast livestream concerts to support our jazz musician friends. This is a significant but neccesary step that will help musicians and venues now, and in the future. You can help offset the cost of this essential undertaking by making a donation today. In return, we'll deliver an ad-free experience (which includes hiding the sticky footer ad). Thank you!

Get more of a good thing

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories and includes your local jazz events calendar.