Home » Jazz Articles » We Float: Silence

Album Review

We Float: Silence


Sign in to view read count
We Float: Silence
Silence, the debut album from the Norwegian-Swedish, Malmö-based quartet We Float, offers well-crafted, dreamy and intimate jazz songs with a pop sensibility, characterized by a hypnotic, infectious pulse. This kind of aesthetic may sound to some as treading in the sonic territory of the Swedish-Danish trio Nuaia, but this first impression is deceiving —there is more from this fine group in Silence.

We Float, whose name is inspired by PJ Harvey song (taken from Harvey's White Chalk album, Island, 2007) is led by Norwegian bassist Anne Marte Eggen, who wrote all the music, and consists of Swedish vocalist Linda Bergström (both Eggen and Bergström began to play together as the We Float duo), keyboard player Fanny Gunnarsson and drummer Filip Bensefelt. Bergström and Gunnarsson collaborated before on the Rasmus Nyvall Quintet, whose debut album was also released by the musicians-collective Havtorn records.

Each of the eight songs suggests a different landscape, often inspired by the close sea and its waves, as a metaphor for the stormy, emotional dramas sketched in the songs. The opening, keyboards-laden instrumental "Intro" is rooted in a prog-rock dense texture, but it is the exception. The following moving, beautiful and lyrical "My Bones" and "Silence," both sung in English, stress the maturity of this group. On both songs you can sense the commanding, evocative delivery of Bergström, the nuanced, tasteful rhythmic support of Eggen and Bensefelt, Gunnarsson's wise usage of vintage keyboards that intensifies the sonic palette, and above all, the emphatic interplay. The chamber-like "Farewell" and the closing, "Vinden," (the only song that is sung in Swedish), highlight Bergström's elegant, deep, emotional delivery.

A promising debut.

Track Listing

Intro; My Bones; Silence; Echolocation; Mysticeti; Tired; Farewell; Vinden.


Anne Marte Eggen: bass; Linda Bergström: vocals; Fanny Gunnarsson: pianoת Fender Rhodes, synthesizer; Filip Bensefelt: drums, percussion.

Album information

Title: Silence | Year Released: 2015 | Record Label: Havtorn Records

Get the Jazz Near You newsletter All About Jazz has been a pillar of jazz since 1995, championing it as an art form and, more importantly, supporting the musicians who create it. Our enduring commitment has made "AAJ" one of the most culturally important websites of its kind, read by hundreds of thousands of fans, musicians and industry figures every month.

To expand our coverage even further and develop new means to foster jazz discovery and connectivity we need your help. You can become a sustaining member for a modest $20 and in return, we'll immediately hide those pesky ads plus provide access to future articles for a full year. This winning combination will vastly improve your AAJ experience and allow us to vigorously build on the pioneering work we first started in 1995. So enjoy an ad-free AAJ experience and help us remain a positive beacon for jazz by making a donation today.

Post a comment about this album



Doug MacDonald
Acoustic Burnside
Duwayne Burnside
Tone Paintings
Craig Davis


Get more of a good thing!

Our weekly newsletter highlights our top stories, our special offers, and includes upcoming jazz events near you.